Decisions, Decisions

My bad mood is lingering, but today was a better day than yesterday.  Maybe my run last night helped boost my mood a little.

No workout today, but I am icing my knee right now as last night’s run caused my IT band injury to flare up.  I iced and foam rolled after my run and it helped relieve a little of the pain, so I’m going to continue on with that.  I want to run again, so it’s time to get back to rehabbing this thing.

Was perusing the race possibilities for the summer.  Since I’ve been dealing with this injury for quite awhile, my trainer and I both thought that shorter races might be the way to go this year, and I can work on speed instead of distance.  It’s still a difficult task to narrow down what I want to sign up for.  Do I want to do just 1 triathlon or a few?  What do I have time to commit to given that I’m currently in the most time-consuming year of dental school?  Should I race a couple of 5k’s and then move on to 10k’s, or do I start with 10k’s and increase my speed over the course of the summer?  It’s kind of fun to imagine the possibilities: faster, fitter, stronger.  But I still am not sure what I’m doing for work this summer or exactly where I’ll be – this summer I can obtain a license that allows me to practise within Saskatchewan under the supervision of a dentist – so I’m not exactly sure what my schedule is going to look like.  Ah, well, I imagine everything will sort itself out.

Now that I’ve taken a little study break, I’m off to prepare for tomorrow and review my notes from tomorrow’s quiz material one more time.

Have you signed up for any races this year, or are you still undecided like me?

14 thoughts on “Decisions, Decisions

  1. Angela (the diet book junkie) says:

    oh man, sorry to hear about your IT. take care of yourself over there, will ya? 🙂

    p.s. i hope to run my first half this year. was supposed to run it last year but injured both my quads (long story.) i do like shorter distances, not i’m not fast, but i’m sure darn competitive. :p

    Like

  2. TheHealthyApron says:

    Good luck figuring out what races to participate in! I’m not a runner so I can’t help ya with deciding! Just do what would be the least stressful! Joining a race should be something fun, not cause you more of a head ache. 🙂

    Like

  3. Kat says:

    I’m pretty sure this is actually my post topic tonight – there are two half marathons I’m tres interested in and I completely unsure as to whether or not I should pick one or run both. I hear you, lady!

    Like

  4. Rae says:

    I have yet to sign up for a race. Period. I haven’t even done an organized 5k yet. One of my friends turned me on to an Ontario trail running series that I have my eye on. It sounds kinda challenging and fun. We’ll see if I have the guts to do it! ha!

    Like

  5. stacey says:

    I have signed up for 3 – regina police half marathon relay, royal road race – 10k, QCM half, and hopefully Melissa run in Banff —what can I say I love the energy of race day!!!

    Have fun planning I know you will make the right choices!

    Like

Leave a Reply

