Girls Just Wanna Have Fun (or, Working Out in my Basement is Boring)

Do you ever have those days where you just don’t want to work out?  I had one yesterday – okay, so maybe I’ve had a few more than usual lately.  You know how fitness magazines say to just workout for 10 minutes and tell yourself that you can stop after that if you’re not feeling it?  Well, I made it to 17 minutes and then that was it.  I was not enjoying the stationary bike, or the fact that I was sliding off the seat because of the shorts I was wearing (I had never worn them before, so I didn’t know they’d be so slippery).  I mostly just wanted to go to bed, and that’s what I did pretty much right after cutting my workout short.

After feeling bad about not getting my full workout in and beating myself up about it mentally, I came to the realization that working out isn’t much fun to me right now.  I love my workouts with my trainer, because she always mixes things up and makes them challenging, but these indoor sessions on my own, in my cold, unfinished basement – meh.  I know I should just suck it up because working out is so important in terms of mental and physical fitness, but at the same time, getting my workouts in is starting to feel like just another item on my to-do list.  That’s not what I want.  I want my workouts to be something to provide an escape from my daily grind, to energize me, to help keep the stress at bay.  In short, I want my workouts to be, well, fun.

Tonight, right after finishing up at school, I headed to a nearby running path and ran.  The sun was still up, it was just around freezing, and I was looking forward to getting outside.  I wore my running gear to school this morning and I had my Garmin, water bottle, and iPod ready to go.  I decided to do some running intervals to spice things up, because it’s so much harder to focus on how much you don’t want to workout if you’re trying to hang in there to the end of the interval.  Just kidding (sort of).

In any case, there is something to be said for running intervals.  It makes me feel a little bit like a kid: you run, you slow down when you’re tired, and then you run some more.  My IT band flared up a little at the 30 minute mark and I’m icing it as I type up this post, but that’s the longest running workout I’ve done for quite some time.  I threw some walking in there and some slow jogging, but I finished feeling like I had accomplished something, and I had fun.

This week is going to be busy.  I’ve got a couple of extra appointments, the usual schoolwork to do, and a gigantic pile of laundry to wash and fold.  The good news is that as of 5pm on Friday, I’m on vacation.  I’ve got a whole week off school and it’s going to be GREAT.  Now I just have to figure out what (fun) workouts I’m going to throw in there.

Anyone else feeling ho-hum about their indoor workouts?  ‘Tis the season for cabin fever…

 

 

8 thoughts on “Girls Just Wanna Have Fun (or, Working Out in my Basement is Boring)

  1. stacey says:

    Girls just wanna have fun…I hear ya Jo! I know I struggle when I can’t be working out with others I love the energy people around me give. So to keep me going I have tried to spice things up until it gets nice and my running partner will join me outside. I have signed up for a weekly yoga class (to help destress) and then a weekly bootcamp class and then continuing with 2 or 3 runs a week depending on weather. I am really hoping this plan and with race days booked it will bring back the fun. Plus we have a weight challenge at work to get everyone motivated.
    I know you will find the groove again.

    Ps- know I totally have this song stuck in my head and love it! Think I might plug in the movie too 🙂

    Like

    • mostlyfitmom says:

      I might have to think about a bootcamp class…good idea! I’m still thinking about what races to do this year. I’m still struggling with my IT band and haven’t been able to dedicate myself to rehabbing it, so I was thinking of doing something shorter – like a few 5k’s and a 10k, plus a sprint tri (or 2?).

      Like

    • mostlyfitmom says:

      Oh, we definitely still have snow here, but it was “warm” out, so I went down to a path by the river that’s well-packed and wasn’t too slippery. We’ll still have snow for at least another month and a half, but I don’t mind running outside in the cold, as long as the snow isn’t ankle-deep. And yes, I’m super-excited for the break.

      Like

  2. fitforakid says:

    I love interval running. Even when I’m doing an easy run, I often throw in some intervals to keep myself interested.

    What about trying some group exercise / boot camp type classes while you’re on vacation? You can probably get trial classes if you call up and say you’re interested. I find the energy from the group really keeps me working hard (my competitive nature). This morning I picked up heavier weights than I had planned on one exercise just because the woman before me did.

    Like

Leave a Reply

