Bouncing Back

My son almost scored a goal yesterday, but he hit the post again.  So close!

He played 3 hockey games yesterday and for the first time this season, his team lost.  I personally think it’s a good thing that they lost.  As a parent, I of course want to protect my kids from, well, a whole lotta things, but I realize that they need to be able to handle defeat and learn from it.  In this age of everyone getting a medal and not keeping score, I think that some kids are just not learning how to deal with losing.  In real life you have to be able to handle disappointment and then bounce back.

Speaking of bouncing back, I didn’t get my work out in last night.  I had a hint of a sore throat and a runny nose and I was so tired, so I decided to go to bed at 9pm instead.  I’m sure I was asleep within 15 minutes of my kids falling asleep.  Was going to bed instead of working out the right decision?  It’s probably a six-of-one-half-a-dozen-of-the-other kind of a situation.  I think it was the right call, but my trainer might not agree if I asked her.  The good news is that when I woke up this morning, I wasn’t stuffed up and my throat was A-okay.  But I must definitely get my workout in today.  No excuses.

I’ve got an extensive to-do list today:

– son’s hockey game

– make a shopping list

– hit the grocery store

– workout: 30 min stationary bike, 300 workout

– laundry

– pack lunches

– clean off the kitchen table (which is currently housing a gigantic collection of paper, kids craft stuff, and other random crap)

– start packing (more details later)

– have the kids address their valentines to their classmates

– maintain my sanity – the kids are currently driving me crazy!!!!

You’ll notice a lack of schoolwork in my to-do list.  Guess I just took the weekend off from studying!

Any plans for Valentine’s Day?  So far, I’ve got none, but I want to do SOMETHING for my kids.

5 thoughts on “Bouncing Back

  1. Jolene (www.everydayfoodie.ca) says:

    I agree that kids need to learn how to both win and lose – and still act like a winner.

    No plans for Valentine’s day, the hubby and I avoid the restaurants … I am sure he will get me something sweet thought 🙂 Also, I will give my students valentines and treats.

    Like

  2. Rae says:

    I don’t have any plans for Vday…..oddly enough, my husband and I are probably going to end up having dinner with his parents. I do zumba with my Mother in Law on Mondays now, so we’ll stop by afterwards. This isn’t sounding very romantic, is it? Ha!

    Like

  3. Kat says:

    Was your son in a tournament last weekend? I SO can’t even wait to read about his first goal…It’s coming soon 🙂

    I know when I’m exhausted, it’s better if I don’t workout, so mostly I avoid it at all costs.

    Separately, we just did a low key sort of thing involving home cooked dinners.

    Like

Leave a Reply

