A New Mantra, Inspired by the Little Engine that Could

Met with my trainer today and she went through a few new workouts she’s put together for me.  Or, more specifically, some quick and efficient workouts that I can fit into my hectic schedule.  There are a lot of exercises that combine multiple muscle groups while engaging my core (e.g., bent-over reverse flys to straight-arm triceps kickbacks on the bosu), plus some plyometrics to get my heart jammin’.  My glutes and shoulders are already sore tonight and it’s been less than 12 hours since my workout, in which I tried out all of the new strength workouts.  I can still crank out pushups, so my strength is still decent, but I was totally sucking wind while doing jump squats.

In other news, no quiz tomorrow – it’s next week instead.  Except it’s scheduled during a time in which I’m been rostered in to observe some cleft palate stuff.  Hopefully I can reschedule and write the quiz before February break – I’d hate to have that hanging over my head.  As it is, I’ve got 2 midterms the week after the break – which in other colleges is not allowed by University regulations, but in our college, it’s A-okay, apparently.

Man, I am tired.  I’ve done very little tonight, unfortunately, and just can’t get motivated to focus on my school work.  In a nutshell, I’m burnt out.  80 days to go until the end of the term.  I can do it. (“I think I can, I think I can, I think I can…”)

Goals for the rest of the week:

Thursday night: upper body workout and 15 minutes on the bike

Saturday night: core workout and 15 minutes running (outside if it’s warm enough!)

Sunday night: 300 workout and 15 minutes on the bike

We’ll see if that Thursday workout happens.  (“I think I can, I think I can, I think I can…”)  I may need to stay at school late to finish some lab work.

Also completely unrelated to my fitness, my son nearly scored his first goal tonight.  Even though he hit the post and the puck was deflected away from the net, I was so proud because he was really trying hard out on the ice in tonight’s game.  His skating has improved quite a bit lately, thanks to a little coaching from my husband, and I think this has really helped him in terms of being able to get in there and mix it up with the other kids.

It’s amazing to watch him and the other 5 and 6 year olds out there.  There’s a lot of falling over and leaning on sticks and missed shots, but by and large they go out there, try hard, and come off the ice smiling.  As an adult, it’s hard for me to go out and try something new without fearing that I’ll look ridiculous.  Sure, I tried my first triathlon last year, and my swim stroke was terrible, but it’s not like I’d never swum before.  And I absolutely had a blast doing the race, but I know there was more than one training session that didn’t go that well, where I finished feeling…well, not smiling.

Maybe that’s why I like running and biking outside more than in my basement: it feels more like playing.  Unfortunately, I live on the Canadian prairies, so the reality is that cycling outside is pretty much impossible (although I seriously saw a guy on a mountain bike the other day, before 8am, and it was -32 C with the wind chill) and running outside is often risky due to cold, ice, and darkness.  Maybe I just need to figure out how to make my indoor workouts more like “play” than like, well, descending into the chilly air of my dungeon…er, unfinished basement.

What are your suggestions for adding more fun to indoor workouts?  I watch movies and/or listen to my iPod (that’s right – I sometimes do both), but I think I need to spice things up a little more.

 

 

3 thoughts on “A New Mantra, Inspired by the Little Engine that Could

  1. fitforakid says:

    I watch Netflix and listen to music.

    When I get bored, I make myself work harder. I throw in a minute of speed or a hard hill, then the next few minutes feel like rest.

    Sorry I can’t be more inspiring! I’m in Ottawa. I know the indoor workout pain (though I kinda like it when I find a good TV series to watch).

    BTW, I’ve been reading your blog for a couple of months. You are one busy lady and the fact that you do even half of what you do is amazing! Keep telling yourself that when you skip a workout. You’ll have lots of time for them when school is out.

    Like

  2. Kat says:

    I don’t know what you listen to in-terms of music, but unless I would be whipping my body around to it on the dance floor, it does not go onto my workout mix. That aspect in and of itself does worlds for my workout mindset.

    Like

Leave a Reply

