Dental School + Parenting = Tired Mom

No workout for me tonight.  It’s been a very long day and I’m exhausted.  Went to bed too late last night.  At around 1am, gentle jolts to my mattress alerted me that my daughter was crawling into bed with me.  I put her back into her bed shortly thereafter, because she wiggles a lot and kept kicking off the covers…I mean, because that’s what you’re supposed to do when your child crawls in with you so that they don’t become accustomed to sleeping in your bed.  More mattress jolts at 5:30am.  This time, I snuggled with her for awhile, but I was up for the day.  Way too little sleep for me. *Yawn*

That quiz I wrote this morning?  Passed it.  Can you believe my prof actually marked it within hours of us writing it?  She’s very conscientious.

While we’re on the topic of school, I have 86 days left in this school year, assuming everything goes well.  Only 56 days of classes left, and, best of all, only 16 days until February break.  As you may suspect from my multiple countdowns, I am really looking forward to the end of this school year.  It has been like a massive endurance test and I only expect it to become more intense over the next couple of months.  I’ve got quizzes and assignments and tons of labwork to do before break, but no big exams or projects, so I guess I’ve got that going for me.

Still, my schedule is not what I’d consider light.  Dental school is likely the most long-term stress I’ve ever had to deal with.  It could be worse, I know.  I also know that a year and a half ago I would have been sitting here in my office, stuffing my face with chocolate as a not-very-productive way to deal with my emotions.  A bag of M&Ms and Easter Creme Egg wrappers would have been mixed in with the unpaid bills and unfiled class notes currently littering my desktop.  I would likely have had a stash of Lindt chocolate and Mini Eggs in the cupboard, for “use” during studying.  I’ve come a long way, I think.

On the upside, despite backing off of my workouts due in part to my busy schedule, I’ve managed to not gain weight this school year, although, yes, I did gain 8 lbs in 2 weeks over the Christmas holidays and just lost that extra weight.  At the same time, I can sure tell that I’m not as muscular, my ability to recover during a workout has decreased dramatically, and I’ve lost a lot of cardiovascular fitness since the beginning of the school year.

Really, I haven’t got a point in writing this post.  I’m just trying to record what’s going on in my life right now.  Here’s hoping that in 5 years, I’ll review this post and be unable to remember just how terrible dental school felt at the time.  And then I’ll probably be off and running to the rink for someone’s hockey practice, wondering just how I’m going to fit in my workouts this week while mentally drafting a meal plan.

 

 

4 thoughts on “Dental School + Parenting = Tired Mom

  1. Kat says:

    Christmas weight happens to everyone every year. And, you nipped it in the bud – Gold Star!

    Separately, congrats on passing your quiz this morning – I know I keep coming back to this, but you’re working incredibly hard, lady. DO NOT forget that.

    Like

Leave a Reply

