Hanging in There: An Update

Alright, so my husband is training for a new job for the next 3 weeks and being that he’s such a good guy, he arranged for our wonderful neighbour to feed our kids and take them to school in the mornings while he’s otherwise occupied.  He also lined up a couple of babysitters for weeknights to pick up the kids, take my son to hockey, and get supper on the table.  I definitely appreciate how great he is!

On the time management front, I’ve got to-do lists that are ridiculously long, but stuff is getting done.  I haven’t got to the point of scheduling my day hour by hour because something always seems to go awry, but I’m keeping that in mind.  I have decided that I am not allowed to surf the ‘net until I’ve got my workout in.  Sort of killing two birds with one stone, right?  Stress-reducing activity + avoiding a big time-waster.

In terms of stress management, I’ve been using an album from iTunes called “Stress Management – Guided Imagery Series Vol. 1” by Marianne Zaugg.  I’ve been using this regularly every night before bed for the past 3 or so weeks and it really helps me fall asleep and stay asleep.  I would recommend it.

This weekend we celebrated my daughter’s 5th birthday.  I can’t believe that (1) she’s already 5 and (2) she’s so girly.  She loves dolls and tea sets and makeup and pink.  Not quite what I was expecting, because, while I love me some sparkly eyeshadow, I’m definitely not a girly-girl.  Interesting to see how they grow, non?

Also, there’s some stuff going on at school that I’m sure I shouldn’t be discussing online, but let’s just say there’s a situation causing a lot of added stress in my life (and for several of my classmates, as well).  This is a big reason why I feel like I’m hanging on by my fingernails and I don’t like it.  But, the reality is that I’ve done what I can and now I’ve got to let things play out and stop worrying about those things that I can’t control.  I’m going to keep telling myself that and hopefully I’ll start believing it soon.

Today: migraine and upset stomach.  Probably a combination of poor food choices (sugar sugar sugar – what can I say?  I love cupcakes), poor posture, and stress.

Workouts this week coming up:

Tuesday – meet with my trainer

Thursday – 30 min bike

Saturday – full body strength

Sunday – sprints on the treadmill

Not a lot of workouts, but I feel like it’s about what I can handle right now.

One good point: while I did indulge in cupcakes at my daughter’s party, I’ve pretty much stuck to my regular diet despite the stress.  I haven’t resorted to emotional eating, and this is a dramatic change for me.  I think that’s a big deal and wanted to brag a little.

Thanks for all of the suggestions on how to maintain my sanity!  I don’t plan to dump water on myself to keep myself at my desk, but that’s definitely a creative solution (see the comments on this post if you want to know what I’m talking about).  At least I’m not alone with the procrastination thing, and there’s comfort in that.

2 thoughts on “Hanging in There: An Update

  1. Kat says:

    Lady – I love the idea of staying away from the ‘net until post-workout. I’m already good enough at procrastinating without ANOTHER distraction.

    Gold star on keeping life in-check food-wise. 1. Cupcakes never count as stress-eating, they’re therapy. 2. Back to that gold star thing…I’m so proud of you – that’s a huge step. Especially with everything that’s happening in your life right now!

    Like

Leave a Reply

