Confessions of a Procrastinator

Tonight I found myself procrastinating, just flat-out avoiding doing homework that needed to be done for tomorrow.  This was not an isolated event, as of late.  I do realize that it’s very much stress-related, the avoidance thing.  It’s like, if I can just trick my brain, distract myself from the unpleasant task, it doesn’t really exist and I won’t feel the associated stress.

Clearly, this makes little sense.  We all know that my homework was still there waiting for me once I caught up on celebrity gossip, checked on how many responses my research study received every 5 minutes, and commented on blog posts.

They say the first step is admitting you have a problem.  So, now I have to figure out how to solve it.  Um, yeah, I’ve got nothing.

*crickets chirping*

After a little thought, what I’ve come up with is this:

  1. Spend 5-15 minutes per day figuring out my to-do list.  Bonus points for prioritizing it and figuring out when to do everything on the list.  Gold star for figuring out an efficient way to track it all on an ongoing basis.
  2. Reward myself for not getting off-track.  This is trickier, though, because I’m at a point where I’m looking for quick rewards that are also not expensive.  No, chocolate is not the answer here.  I’m still working on it.
  3. Stop reading so much garbage online!  Honestly, I think following one celeb gossip site is more than enough.  No clicking on links to get to other posts.
  4. Manage my stress.  Again, I’m working on this.  I know exercise would fit into this category but am really struggling to fit it in.  And yet I seem to be able to find plenty of time to p*ss away on useless gossip sites?  The trouble I’m having is that I feel like I should always be studying more.  It’s easy to fritter away a little time online, but a lot harder to set aside even 45 minutes for a workout, plus the extra time to shower,etc.  Bah, now I’m making excuses.

I’ll let you know how it goes, this anti-procrastination plan.  And if you have any suggestions, throw them my way!  I can use all the help I can get.

10 thoughts on “Confessions of a Procrastinator

  1. TheHealthyApron says:

    I would say, prioritize. If it takes setting a daily scehdule for you to fit it all in then do it! I had to do this in college on weekends in order to stay on track! I would literally plan from breakfast to going out at night JUST so I could get it all in…definitely helped! My best suggestion for not procrastinating!

    Like

  2. Kat says:

    I live and die by to-do lists.

    I’m always trying to address #4. Sometimes it involves surrounding myself with people I love, and sometimes it involves more alone-time. Keep us posted on what’s working, lady!

    #2…New nail polish/lipstick/hand lotion/vanity-type things?

    Like

  3. Heather says:

    Oh my goodness…those kind of sites just drag me in and I can read them forever! It’s horrible…and then I look at the time and realized just how long I’d spent reading it…oh dear. One thing I try to do or not do I guess is to not turn on the computer on Saturday and/or Sunday. It’s amazing how much time I spend on this wonderful thing! 🙂 It has helped me find more time for other priorities. I also love a to do list…and I love crossing things off even more! 🙂

    Hey, I remember reading about your hubby’s new job – is he gone for his trainning? If so, I hope you are doing okay alone w/ the kiddos! I know that’s tough!!

    Good luck!! You can do it!

    Like

  4. Angela (the diet book junkie) says:

    oh gosh, procrastinating is something i have mastered myself. it’s just SOOO easy when Google is just a click away! (plus my attention span is shot to $@!%. i blame the internet.)

    anyway, hope you’re having a great weekend and good luck to you mate! let me know how you go! 🙂

    Like

  5. Rae says:

    One of my old colleagues was a total procrastinator. Okay…this is TMI, but sometimes, when she was VERY desperate to just get something done without interrupting herself, she would purposefully spill water on her crotch. Yup. You read that right. She claimed it was the only way to guarantee she’d sit at her desk long enough to accomplish anything without jumping up for a trip to the kitchen, or to gossip. OH mY! Whatever works, right? LOL

    Like

Leave a Reply

