It’s Okay to Whine Sometimes, Right?

The upheaval my household is facing in the near future?  My husband signed on for a new job today and gave notice at his old one.  I’m really happy that he’s making the switch to a job that he’ll enjoy a lot more and that will probably require a whole lot less paperwork in the evening.

But…he’ll be gone 3 weeks straight for training. That’s a really big deal for me because he’s the one who drops off the kids at school and picks them up everyday, grocery shops, cooks, does the laundry, runs them to their activities, etc.  As it is, I leave the house between 7:30 and 7:45 am so I’m at school around 8am, and then I’m usually home between 6 and 6:30pm, unless I’ve got work that I have to do at the university (usually once a week).  The kids can’t be dropped off any earlier than 7:45am and must be picked up by 5:30pm, so you can see that my husband being gone is going to be a major hardship for me.

Yes, I’m well aware that I’m making this all about me and that lots of people are single parents and do everything on their own all the time.  Just let me wallow in my self-pity for a little longer.

We’ve lined up babysitters to handle picking up the kids after school, running them to activities, and cooking supper during the week, but I am really worried about mornings.  I’m not good at winter mornings.  In fact, I’m not good at sunny summer mornings.  Will I be able to manage getting us all out the door by 7:40am every morning, with everyone fully dressed, lunches in tow, and sanity intact?  I am doubting myself, but I guess it’s time to be a grown-up and get out of bed earlier.

Now that I’m done whining, I’m heading to bed.  I’ve got an exam tomorrow and I’m poorly prepared for it, but a lack of sleep isn’t going to help anything.

If you’ve got any good suggestions on how I can streamline my mornings, let me know!  This morning-hating, whiney mom is going to need all the help she can get.

5 thoughts on “It’s Okay to Whine Sometimes, Right?

  1. Kat says:

    Feel free to whine, lady – we all need to get it off our chest once in awhile.

    I always start my coffee pot before I hop in the shower. I’m not sure if that’s helpful and I’m positive it’s not on the order of mass-streamlining, but it’s definitely my time-saver.

    Congratulation to Mostly Fit Dad – that’s such wonderful news! I can’t wait for those three weeks to pass so that y’all can reap the benefits of this change!

    Like

  2. Heather says:

    Wow!! You have every right to whine! I know it’s tough for me when my husband goes out of town too. I hope you make it through and the 3 weeks fly by. Congrats to your husband on the new job! I love my job, but I have had jobs that I didn’t enjoy so much so I know how important it is to enjoy what you do!

    Like

Leave a Reply

