The Slump Continues

Confession: I haven’t hit my fitness goals this week.  I went for a 10 minute run last Saturday but had some  GI issues immediately afterward and decided to postpone my strength workout.  And then my schedule sort of exploded and I chose school, family, and sleep over exercise.  My schoolwork will be crazy again this week (2 exams, radiology interpretations for 4 patients, 1 oral pathology case, and 2 sets of internal medicine questions, plus all the regular stuff), but I don’t like how my body feels right now and I need to get moving, which means mentally committing to fitting those workouts in and cutting out a couple of time-wasters like (1) spending time surfing the ‘net and (2) not planning my days so that I spend time floundering, trying to figure out what I need to do.

I’m not meeting with my trainer for a couple of weeks, so while I’m not getting her encouraging words right now, I am a little (more than a little?) scared about reporting how poorly I’ve been doing with working out.  This is the least I’ve worked out since I started working with her and it’s definitely affected my fitness.  Mind you, it’s also the busiest I’ve ever been in my life, so there’s that.  Still, I’ll take the little bit of motivation it provides to get some workouts in before I see her, because I feel like I’ll be letting her (and myself) down if I don’t get back to working out.

Fitness plan for the next week or so:

  • Saturday, January 15 – 30 min bike, core
  • Sunday, January 16 – 12 min run, full body strength
  • Wednesday, January 19th – 15 min run, upper body strength
  • Friday, January 21st – 17 min run, 300 workout
  • Saturday, January 22nd – 30 min bike, core
  • Sunday, January 23rd – 19 min run, fully body strength

My run workouts will be at a fairly easy pace because I want to make sure my IT band is okay before I start pushing things.

I usually use the workouts my trainer has given me for strength, but I might throw a full body strength video in there just to mix things up.  Sometimes, I just want to listen and follow along and zone out – reading seems like too much effort.   Wow!  How crazy (lazy?) is that, right?

I also downloaded a bike/spinning workout from iTrain.com for another just-listen-and-workout session.  I haven’t tried an iTrain workout before and I think it’ll be interesting.  I always find I can push myself so much harder at a spin class when there’s an instructor leading and providing that extra push, so I hope this workout track is like that.

I do have one good thing to report, though: my eating is getting back to normal.  It’s actually been a few days since I’ve consumed any junk food and my sugar cravings are dissipating.  Holiday recovery is officially underway. 🙂

How’s your holiday recovery going?  Or did you do a better job of maintaining your healthy eating habits over the holidays than I did?  How do you motivate yourself when you’re in a slump?

UPDATE: Tried out my iTrain bike/spin workout and it was excellent!  Threw in some core at the end and, ta-da, I got in my planned workout today.

6 thoughts on “The Slump Continues

  1. Kat says:

    I did a decent job of keeping my feasting in-check during the holidays. That being said, I do think that last week I finally hit my “back-to-normal” stride.

    When I’m in a slump, I usually change-up what I’m doing (Yoga instead of Running, etc.) because my slumps usually have something to do with feeling burned out. Keep your head up, lady! You have A TON on your plate right now.

    Like

  2. Heather says:

    Congrats on getting your workout in today!! I know it’s really tough sometimes finding the time. You are doing awesome to even get that in w/ everything you have!

    I think I have two big motivations (among many others): 1)friends who also love to run and workout and 2)remembering the amazing feeling after a run or workout.

    Good luck at hitting your goals for next week!

    Like

Leave a Reply

