Motivation Slump, Or Why I Need a Kick in the Pants

The only thing missing is the arrow to point me in the right direction.

 

112 days left until the end of the school year (possibly less, depending on when my finals actually end), 74 school days, 42 days until February break.  To say that I’m not “living in the moment” is probably a great understatement.  It was fantastic to get 2 weeks off, but it already feels like I’m full tilt again, and what’s even more anxiety-inducing is knowing that as the term proceeds, my school workload will become even heavier – just like me over the Christmas holidays.  Knowing that I have not only 112 days until the end of 3rd  year, but also another year after this one is…disheartening.  Frankly, I’m really struggling to find the “good” in my school days – other than the fact that as each day passes, there’s one less to go.  And my friends at school, who are all going through it with me.

As you might imagine, my negativity has affected my healthy living.  I’m seriously in a motivation slump.  I haven’t worked out for 2 weeks – the longest I’ve gone without working out in over a year and a half.  On top of that, my “Christmas holiday eating” is now extending into January and I totally have a wicked muffin top.  Yikes!  I feel like I need to put this brakes on this – and fast – but I just don’t feel mentally ready.

I think I’m just going to have to suck it up and workout anyway, because this is getting ridiculous.

My goals for the next week:

1. Workout tomorrow – 10 minute run (outside, if the weather’s nice enough – haven’t checked the forecast) + upper body workout

2. Workout Tuesday – 12 minute run (again, hopefully outside) + full body strength

3. Workout Friday – 30 minute bike + core

Not too tough a week.  I’m trying to ease back into it a little.  Did I mention I injured by IT band again over the holidays?  I clearly need to make rehabbing my IT band a greater priority.

I also need to e-mail my trainer and set up a time to meet with her ASAP.  It may be tricky to find a time to meet with her, though, because our schedules aren’t meshing these days.  I’m sure she’ll give me a talking to when I tell her about my fall from the band wagon – but in a butt-kicking, motivational way, I’m sure.

Oh yeah, and if I meet my goals, I will download a movie from iTunes and actually take the time to watch the movie next Saturday night.  Hopefully while snuggled up with my husband.

I think I’ll also set some healthy eating goals sometime this weekends.  Time to kick the sugar habit I picked up over the holidays.  Stay tuned…

And if you want/need to recover after reading the negative drivel above, check out:

I just watched my husband put a bag of chips into the pantry, so I’ll guess I’ll be busy avoiding those this weekend.  And it’s my son’s first hockey tournament Sunday and I’m definitely not missing that!  Lots to get done tomorrow, for sure.  Have a great weekend, and do something that makes you happy!

 

 

8 thoughts on “Motivation Slump, Or Why I Need a Kick in the Pants

  1. Kat says:

    Oh, goodness – good luck to your son and his team with the tournament!

    I love the idea of a movie as a reward – you need to treat yourself 🙂

    Like

  2. gracefulfitness says:

    Hi,
    Do you use workout dvd’s at home? I LOVE them and use them for everything from cardio to Pilates. My favorites are the 10-20 minute ones because it’s easy to get started thinking “I will just do 10 minutes and see how I feel” or “I can fit 10 minutes in right now”.
    If you don’t already use them I encourage you to give them a try, then you have a cardio back up if you can’t run outside and you have some encouragement to keep moving right in your living room.
    If you know what’s good for you DO IT! 🙂
    You’ve got this.

    Like

  3. TheHealthyApron says:

    Hope that you start feeling up again! I know it can be hard to get back in the swing of things after the holidays but it’s all mental!! Just feed yourself positive affirmations and before you know it…you’ll start to believe them!! YOu can do it lady!! Just keep your chin up!! ps. don’t you get MLK day off? SOMETHING TO LOOK FORWARD TO!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

