More Veggies, Please?

I worked out 3 days this week.  They weren’t the days that I had originally planned to work out, and I didn’t get in as much cardio as a planned due to the fact that I broke my stationary bike and I’m having IT band problems, but I still got 3 workouts in.  So I got that goin’ for me, which is nice.  (Hopefully someone gets that Caddyshack reference.)

I also managed to restrict my treats to the weekend, and, yes, I also managed to limit how much I consumed.  I’m happy about that, but not so happy about my veggie intake, which was less than ideal.  Oh, I had my 4 servings most days, but I fell short probably 3 days this week.  Part of it is that my husband hasn’t been getting to the grocery store (I meal plan, he shops), but I can’t really blame him – his work schedule has been especially hectic, and he’s still done a ton of laundry, cleaned out part of the basement, taken the kids to hockey, shuttled them to and from school, and worked.  Yes, he’s awesome.  No, you can’t have him.

The other factor impairing my vegetable intake is that when I get stressed, I sometimes find veggies just aren’t appealing.  Doesn’t seem to matter what I do to them; some days, I just have to choke them down.  This is where something like V8 comes in handy.  It may not have as much fibre as a whole vegetable, but at least you can chug it back quickly.  Guess it’s time to stock up!

A few of my classmates have been complaining of stomach troubles lately.  I’m not sure if I’m just paranoid, but I’m not feeling so hot tonight.  The question now is do I set my alarm for 5:30am in hopes that I’m feeling well and can make it to 6am spin tomorrow, or do I set it for 7am, getting the extra sleep and hopefully fending off a potentially nasty virus?  I’ll let you know what I decide, but I’m not gonna lie and tell you that I’m all jacked about getting up at 5:30. It’s cold.  It’s dark.  And I’m always, ALWAYS tired – yes, even after my workout, I feel like I could crawl back into bed for a few quick zzzz’s.

This week’s agenda:

Monday – spin

Tuesday – workout with my trainer

Friday – run and core

Signing off for the night.  It’ll be a rockin’ week of studying, working out, and, well, life.

Any suggestions for awesome vegetables that I might actually want to eat?  Raw isn’t really doing it for me at all, and neither are plain cooked ones.

15 thoughts on “More Veggies, Please?

  1. Karen R says:

    I’m with you 0n the dis-interest in veggies when stressed!

    Good job on the sweets, though. You did much better than me this week 🙂

    What works for me some days is to add the veggies into my breakfast. I don’t really like eggs so mixing in broccoli or spinach with my eggs helps me to choke them down. And I get in a serving or two of veggies at the same time!

    Like

  2. Heather says:

    Great job on fitting in 3 workouts with your busy schedule!

    I have recently started roasting my veggies – me, hubby and son all love it! Onions, squash, peppers, etc. – mix in a little olive oil and then season (garlic, salt/pepper, a little parm cheese – yum). Then I bake in oven at 400 degrees. We like them a little crispy so I broil them at the end.

    Have a great Monday!

    Like

  3. Kat says:

    When I’m not in love with veggies, I switch over exclusively to roasted. They’re delish and they make me feel like even though I’m being healthy I’m really not 🙂

    Like

    • mostlyfitmom says:

      Did some roasted carrots tonight, but didn’t love them. 😦 However, I think I just need to try out some other veggies! Maybe carrots aren’t the best roasting choice? Or maybe I just don’t know how to roast veggies properly – haha!

      Like

  4. Angela (the diet book junkie) says:

    hmm….i wish i had some suggestions. lunch for me is always raw veggies (salad) and dinner is always baked or stir fried. (p.s. is there a difference between roasted and baked??) what if you threw in some nuts, cheese, or fruit in your salad? maybe try a new dressing?:)

    Like

  5. Michelle (Housewife in the Raw) says:

    I’m a big veggie eater, but despised them during the first half of both my pregnancies. I craved (and ate) potatoes like crazy, but those don’t really count as a veggie.

    When I get stressed I get nauseous and when I get nauseous, I either don’t want to eat or only want bland, starchy foods like pasta and potatoes.

    Maybe just survive the stressful period and then veggies will taste good again.

    Do you make green smoothies? I can almost always stomach one, especially with bananas and almond milk, and that gets in 2-3 cups of leafy greens.

    Like

Leave a Reply

