The Running is Good

As you might guess from the fact that I haven’t posted in a couple of weeks, things in my world have been hectic.  However, I always hate it when people talk about how busy they are, so I won’t do that to you.  Instead, I want to focus on the positive – namely, the fact that I went for a run tonight for the first time in nearly 2 weeks, and it felt great!

I know I’m not alone in occasionally lacking the motivation to work out.  And it’s not exactly that I haven’t been motivated the past few weeks.  It’s been more that I’ve been really overwhelmed with school and felt like I needed to make that a priority rather than fitting in my workouts.  I’ve been working out regularly for about a year and a half now, though, and I know that I feel better and manage my stress better when I’m working out, so I was starting to feel the itch to workout more.  And that’s good, because sometimes we need a fire lit under our figurative behinds.

I’m not sure if anyone else feels the same way, but if I want to fit in regular workouts, I have to be MENTALLY committed to fitting them in.  And to be perfectly honest, this hasn’t been the case for me recently.  Yes, this is where I could be whiney-whiney about how busy my life has been and I think it would be valid rather than just an excuse (again, not going to get into the details, as I would annoy myself with my own sense of self-pit).  But I think it has finally sunk in for me that the rest of the school year will be just as busy, so I’d better just suck it up, mentally re-commit to fitness, and (to quote Lainey) “gut that sh-t out.”

So, getting back to my run, I headed out after getting home from school and before eating supper.  I had the intention of running near campus right after dropping my gear off at my parked vehicle after school.  After finishing up with my patient and having a quick yogurt, I changed into my running clothes and started walking to my vehicle.  Somehow, though, I completely forgot that my husband had dropped me off at school and I didn’t have a parked vehicle to put my gear in.  After calling my husband and getting a ride home, I headed out the door.

It was a really beautiful night tonight: cool, clear, and pretty calm.  I wore running tights and a t-shirt, and it was perfect.  Despite using my inhaler before my run, the air was cool enough that I noticed my chest was a little tight near the end of my run.

My intention was to run at a comfortable pace that felt good.  You may or may not know that I trained for  a half marathon this summer, but was unable to run it due to an IT band injury I sustained just after I started to taper.  I’ve been rehabbing my hip and knee for several weeks now.  This week I visited my physiotherapist and mentioned that my last run was about 30 minutes long and I was pain-free.  However, he suggested that I keep this run to about 20 minutes, since I had taken (at that point) a week and a half off from running.  I’m hanging my head in shame as I type this, but I ignored his advice tonight.  And, yes, I should have listened to him, because around the 26 minute mark, my knee got a little bit achy.

Before the knee ache appeared, though, it was a fantastic run!  It wasn’t super fast or anything, but it just. felt. good.  I was able to push a little (Maybe not the smartest when you’re still recovering from an injury.  I know, I know.), and I just basically went out and enjoyed it.

The next run will probably be closer to 20 minutes, so that I don’t tweak the knee again, but I’m really looking forward to it.  Tomorrow I plan to get a full-body workout in, and then I’ll go out for a run again on Sunday.

What do you do when you struggle with motivation and fitting in exercise?  Are you a runner, and do you love it?

12 thoughts on “The Running is Good

  1. stacey says:

    I always say the ultimate struggle is getting up and going, at least it is for me, and then after that it just feels so good. I always try to remember that feeling and use that as motivation.
    This summer after training for QCM I feel in love with running especially in a race or with a friend. Which was totally confirmed when I ran with my sister in Banff 10k race. So to keep me going I have now signed up for mini races until the QCM again next fall. I figure that will keep the motivation to keep running since I am doing it now by myself.

    Like

  2. jill conyers says:

    I have no secret strategy for the occasional unmotivated days so I basically suck it up and accept no excuses. Easier said than done but with maybe 1 or 2 exceptions I’m always glad I did and feel better after the run.

    Oh and listen to your doctor!! I have a few friends that don’t and they push it only to end up injured again and delaying recovery.

    Like

  3. Kat says:

    I don’t struggle with fitting in exercise, but I do struggle with the motivation part, which is why when I get home from work, I literally make a beeline for my closet and start putting exercise clothes on. 10 minutes later, I’m out the door because otherwise anything else in the world will become more appealing.

    But, I have to say (and I admit this grudgingly) that I do LOVE running.

    Glad that you’re back 🙂

    Like

  4. Rae says:

    It seems there are a lot of folks who were struggling with the mental side of the game in September. It is a very busy time for most, which makes sense. I was derailed by a bad cold and I’m just now getting back into my ‘groove’. I decided to join a challenge for October which has me making a commitment to log 50 miles and avoid caffeine. Wish me luck! 🙂

    Like

  5. Heather says:

    I’m a runner and I LOVE IT!! I know what that feeling of getting back to it after a break – it’s amazing! I don’t know how you do all you do but I am impressed and happy that you were able to get a run in. Hope your next run goes well.

    It is really hard for me to stay motivated sometimes but I try to remember how great I feel after a workout or run…that typically gets my behind out of bed! 🙂

    Like

  6. Wendy says:

    Glad you’re back, my mostly fit mama friend!! ❤ Awesome job on your run!!
    I am not a runner (which I blogged about in pretty good detail last Sunday) but I do run when I feel like it. There are many types of exercise that I enjoy more than running. However, the feeling you get during and after a great run is utterly wonderful, eh?!

    Like

  7. couchpotatoathlete says:

    I struggle with motivation quite a bit — and sometimes I just have to take a day or two off before I get antsy and start exercising again. Or I switch it up and do a different dvd or I just go for a walk and clear my head and kind of get “re-motivated”

    I’m glad to see a post from you, I know you’re busy but I do enjoy reading. I hope your next run goes well!

    Like

  8. Holly @ Self-love and Running says:

    I don’t struggle with motivation as much as a busy schedule lately. With family visiting and a work get-together, our schedule has been chock full and there hasn’t been much wiggle room on some days to fit in a workout. It’s much easier to plan workouts and stick to that plan when life is less busy. I make time for workouts as much as possible though.

    I do run though I haven’t been running as much lately. My right knee has been sore so I have been babying it. I’m going to try and get a run in on the treadmill this evening but I’ll cut it short if the knee is complaining. I’ve also been doing a lot of yoga lately.

    Like

  9. lisaou11 says:

    when you are as busy as you are (and myslef) you need to be mentally commited to fitting in workouts otherwise it just wont happen. I know I went a week w ithout working out bc I felt I had to focus on school.

    And oyu’ve just inspired me to go for a run. Should be fun 🙂

    Like

  10. Angela (the diet book junkie) says:

    oh yes, i’ve definitely kept running when my body was telling me no. (lol….why are runners so stubborn?)

    the only time i struggle with motivation is when if i haven’t been sleeping well, otherwise i NEED to exercise. running makes me sane. seriously, you don’t wanna be around me when i suffer withdrawal. 😛

    Like

Leave a Reply

