A Week in the Life of…

Wow, last week just flew right by.  As I mentioned in my last post, last week was my week for hospital roster, so it was big change in schedule.  While I really enjoyed the opportunity to view several oral surgeries, to learn how to suture, and to observe the work of various medical doctors, I feel like I’m now about to fall of the back of the treadmill, if you know what I mean.  I have to catch up with four days worth of classes, some lab work, and prepare for a test, a quiz, and a presentation this week.  Yikes!

Tomorrow morning, I’m attending the first session of a bootcamp that my trainer offers.  It’s spinning plus (I think) some core work, and it starts at 6 a.m.  I’d like to say “bright and early” at 6 a.m., but now that it’s fall, I think it’ll just be early – and rather dark. *sigh*  Other workouts I plan to get in this week: a one-hour swim, an upper body workout, and a run.  I managed to get a 5k run in this past weekend, with only a little mild hip soreness – no IT band-related knee pain, I’m happy to report!

I also just remembered that my husband will be away Wednesday, Thursday, and Friday, which means I’ll be solo-parenting those days.  Seriously, I have so much respect for the single moms and dads out there who manage their kids on their own day in and day out, because, let me tell you, I will be struggling to get in everything that needs to be done these three days.  Luckily, we do have a great babysitter who will be helping out a couple of nights, but all of you know that it’s the mornings that are likely to do me in.

What else can I tell you about my life these days?  I’ve been really struggling to get my workouts in, mostly because of the change of schedule related to my hospital roster week.  This week I plan to get back on track and schedule my workouts into my calendar to make sure I get them done.  This weekend, we went out of town and visited my sister and her husband, and my eating was not the best.  I guess that happens to us all from time to time, but I want to make sure that I get right back to healthy eating tomorrow and not let the “out-of-town-for-the-weekend” eating continue.  I hope to make a meal plan tonight or tomorrow, and I will post as soon as I can.  As you can imagine, what with my husband being out of town, I’m lining up slow cooker meal and meals from from freezer.

Other stuff I’ve got going on this week: a session with my physical therapist, a session with my massage therapist, a haircut and colour (my first cut since July! my hair is getting crazy), and our college’s Fall Formal on Saturday (a semi-formal dinner and dance).  I’ve got to find time to get a dress I just bought hemmed before Saturday, and I have to figure out what accessories to wear.  I would also love to fit a pedicure somewhere in there, but honestly don’t know when.  Saturday morning, before my haircut, maybe?

My kids need a couple of stories before bed, so I’d best sign off.

What have you got lined up for the week?  Anything fun planned?

10 thoughts on “A Week in the Life of…

  1. Karen says:

    That’s great you had no knee pain during your 5K!

    Good luck with your busy schedule and your husband being gone! My little guy’s dad and I are divorced but I never say I am a “single mom”. His dad and I share custody so I say that we co-parent together.

    But I know what it’s like to try and squeeze in workouts, meals, work, time in the kids’ classroom, the kids’ extracuricular activities, packing lunches, etc. So good luck to you this week!

    For my week, I’m flying from LA to New York for a few days later this week and so am excited! But lots of work, runs, activities with my little guy, and his homework to get done before I leave… 🙂

    Like

  2. 45before35 says:

    I find it funny that we both checked out this week (I didn’t post/read blogs for an entire week as well). It is hard getting back into the swing of things! Great job on the run – I am so happy that you didn’t have pains.

    Like

  3. jill conyers says:

    My dad is coming today for a visit. My son has 2 cross country meets. Curriculum night at the jr. high. Only 2 days of running.Getting ready to start P90X 90-day challenge. And finally a weekend road trip for my marathon on Sat. It’s going to be a busy week.

    Good luck with working out and your new schedule and working out.

    Like

  4. TheHealthyApron says:

    Sounds like a busy week and i’m sorry to hear your hubby won’t be around for most of it to help! Don’t get too frustrated by the struggle you are having with working out! Every little bit helps so move whenever you can! don’t forget, taking care of the kiddies is quite the workout half the time!!
    My weekend eating waasn’t stellar either but hoping to make up for it this week by eating vegetarian and keeping it light with lots of fruits and veggies!!

    Like

  5. Heather says:

    My hubby is gone three days next week too so I completely understand! I only have 1 kid but it’s still tough to get away or accomplish everything that needs to be done. I’m so thankful for my hubby! I hope you’re able to get in your workouts and have a great week!

    Like

  6. Kat says:

    What a crazy week, lady! I know that I purposefully under-scheduled myself this week because I got a bit overwhelmed last week. My plans: cooking, nail polishing and basking.

    It’s so good to hear that your knee isn’t giving you anymore of that awful pain!

    p.s. I always think that getting out of the “weekend rut” is the hardest thing!

    Like

Leave a Reply

