Up and At ‘Em!

I missed my workout yesterday, and felt bad about it.  I’ve already cut back on the number of workouts I’m fitting in per week, so I really want to get in all the workouts I have scheduled.  But Tuesday was a long day and there was no way I was getting in a quality workout, so I set my alarm for 6am and worked out this morning.  Even though I really do hate mornings, I didn’t find it too hard to get up and head downstairs for my bike intervals and core workout.  I must be making progress!

As I drove to school, I was thinking about how many, MANY times I’ve read that people who work out in the morning are more likely to stick to working out.  I’ve tried to workout in the morning before – I really did my best – but could not stick with it for more than a couple of weeks.  Until now.

It made me wonder: is it that working out in the morning helps you stick to it, or is it that you are so committed to fitting in exercise that you workout in the morning?  For me, I think it’s the latter.  Until I had developed a fitness habit and realized how much better I feel when I work out regularly, I really didn’t make exercise enough of a priority to get my butt out of bed in the morning.

The other option, I suppose, is that you are my direct opposite and you’re a morning person.  Don’t worry – I won’t hold it against you. 🙂  I don’t understand it at all, and I’m a little bit envious, but I won’t hold it against you.

The alarm will be set for 5:15am tomorrow morning.  I’ll be meeting my trainer at the gym at 6am.  Yep, it’ll be another early morning for me, but I don’t mind too much.  It’s more important for me to get my workout in than it is for me to get that extra 2 hours of sleep.  Can not beLIEVE I just wrote that.

Having just realized how early I need to get up, I’d better got offline and get to bed.

What’s your opinion on morning exercise?  Does it make you committed to working out, or are you committed to working out first?

22 thoughts on “Up and At ‘Em!

  1. Karen says:

    Intersting post! I usually schedule a couple of workouts in the morning, and a couple in the evening. But for the past few weeks, the evening workouts get missed. So this week I planned all of the workouts for the morning. And I have stuck to them!

    This week I resolved to schedule my workouts for the morning from here on out, with very few exceptions.

    I am not a “morning person” but always wake up in the 5 am hour in order to get everything done that needs to be accomplished that day. Even though I am up early, I rarely feel like exercising and would rather iron or do anything else. But as I said, I have resolved to doing my workouts early now. So that’s my “story” 🙂

    Like

  2. stacey says:

    Hey Jo, I have to say I just love your blog, I look forward to reading all the time you have an amazing ability to capture my attention in what you are saying and self reflect. Your point today just totally hit me because for the last 9 weeks of training for the half marathon I have been waking up at 4:45 to drive to meet my amazing running partner for 5:00. Yes I have been late a few times and I am totally not a major morning person. What made me do it is the commitment to my running mate at first and to training and then it became the enjoyment out of running. Also I have found that doing my workout in the morning means I don’t have all day to think of reasons why I can’t after work.
    Keep up the amazing work!!

    Like

  3. unmaskd says:

    Everyday many of us have a feeling of not accomplishing some (or a lot) of our goals. That feeling is typically gone in the morning. What we have instead is energy to follow through on our commitments — something we nearly lose by the end of the day.

    Like

  4. Rae says:

    Hmmmm. Well I am a morning workout person because I have to be. I can’t workout after work. So because I want to workout and want to get it in, I get up bright, now dark and early and workout. I think you have to be committed to working out first, and then you’ll get up in the mornings. If you really arn’t committed to it, I would think it would be easier to hit the snooze, or just reset your alarm and go back to sleep. I want to workout, so I will get up. I’ve been doing this for over a year now, so now I am a morning person. 🙂

    Like

  5. Heather says:

    That’s exactly what I had to do: just get up and make myself do it!! I’ve been doing it (morning run/workouts) for about a month now and have never looked back. I feel so much better all day long and it’s nice knowing it’s done! Keep it up! I know it’s really hard some days to drag yourself out of that warm, cozy bed. 🙂

    Like

  6. Kelly says:

    For me, it depends on the day with the kiddos. My little one is an early riser, so it makes it hard to get up before her. No matter what, though, I wake up and put on my workout clothes so that I have no excuses and whenever I have time, I’m ready to go. 🙂
    Great job waking up early and getting it done!!!

    Like

  7. couchpotatoathlete says:

    “It’s more important for me to get my workout in than it is for me to get that extra 2 hours of sleep. Can not BELIEVE I just wrote that.”

    I also cannot believe you wrote that! Sleep is important to me but so is exercise and thankfully I work until 4:30pm every day, which gives me time to workout and then make dinner. I do *like* working out in the morning, it really energizes me and wakes me up!

    Like

  8. Tina says:

    I agree with you. I think people who wake up really early to get in a workout are more determined to work out. Although I do think daily stresses can get in the way of those who wait until later in the day as well.

    Like

  9. lowandbhold says:

    Quite frankly, I hate morning exercise. At the beginning of my marathon training I had to do 5 a.m. runs in the dark because otherwise it was just too dad gum hot, but now that it’s cooled down I’ve gone back to doing 95% of my workouts in the afternoon/evenings after work and only get up early if I have plans that evening and need to get a run or something in.

    Good job with your early mornings though! That’s great!

    Like

  10. Angela (the diet book junkie) says:

    i’ve read that too. (morning exercisers tend to stick with it more.) plus it sets you up for a positive frame of mind for the day. i’ve only worked out in the morning a few times, i found it hard to do on an empty stomach, but i also can’t workout if i JUST ate. haha….ya just can’t win with me 🙂

    Like

    • mostlyfitmom says:

      Yeah, the food thing can sure be tricky. I will often have a handful of dried fruit with a 1/2 cup of yogurt, or even just a cup of Gatorade right before my workout. Gets my blood sugar high enough to get me through my workout without being too heavy.

      Like

  11. Kat says:

    SO interesting! I think that people who exercise in the morning are more committed to exercise in general. Personally, I prefer exercising after work (with the exception of running on the weekends). BUT, if I know that my evening schedule is nutty (example: this week), then I’ll haul my tail out of bed at 5 AM to make it happen.

    Like

  12. lisaou11 says:

    I hate morning exericse but I usually do it at least a couple times a week.

    I think Im just committed to exercising and moving my body. If I dont make it in the morning, I will find a way to exercise later in the day.

    Like

  13. jill conyers says:

    I’m a morning person. I’m up at 4:30 weekdays and weekends. I found that it was the only time I was almost guaranteed a few hours of uninterrupted time. And by 6:30 whatever I needed to do was done for the day. Exercising in the evening after work (and after I am done with my part time job of mom the taxi driver) was a struggle. And if for no other reason I feel better during the day.

    Thanks for visiting my blog via RLAM 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

