Stress, Stress, and More Stress

Well, it looks like I’m officially knee-deep in school.  I’m just taking a quick study break before getting back to cramming for an orthodontics “pre-test.”  You might think, “Pre-test – sounds easy-peasy,” but in reality, it’s a full-on test that covers all of the lecture material we’re supposed to go through this term.  While I like the idea of making us do some reading before we head into the classroom, I’m not sure I like the fact that I have to flat-out memorize a term’s worth of material without any sort of context or real understanding of the concepts.  This is worth 15% of my grade for the term, so it’s a pretty big deal.  I’m just not sure what value there is in memorizing a bunch of stuff that I will promptly forget after writing the exam.  But I’m just a student, so who am I to question? (Yes, you may be sensing a little sarcasm and frustration. *sigh*)

Went for a short 15 minute run today, and the IT band was tight, but no knee pain.  However, I ran for 20 minutes on Monday, and the knee pain kicked in.  I have a feeling I won’t be running my half marathon.  Strangely, I don’t feel that upset about it.  I’m just really happy I made it through the bulk of my training (longest run was 21.1k, which is the full half marathon distance) and dramatically increased my fitness this summer.  For me, signing up for a race is more about motivation than about the race itself, and I feel that signing up for a half marathon really worked well for me.

Missed my workout yesterday and didn’t do my entire workout today.  Meeting my trainer at 6am tomorrow (blech).  Supposed to do a 10k run Friday, but sense that’s not going to happen, so I’ll have to adjust my plans.  I’m also going for physical therapy tomorrow, so we’ll see what my PT says about my progress.

Well, back to orthodontics!  Wish me luck, and have a great night!

8 thoughts on “Stress, Stress, and More Stress

  1. Angela (the diet book junkie) says:

    girl, i’m in the same boat. i was supposed to run my first half in 3 weeks, but i’m afraid it’s not gonna happen. i just got back into running after 6 weeks off, and i don’t wanna hurt myself again. but yeah…i’m not that upset about it either! i’m just glad i’m running again!

    good luck with the studying 🙂

    Like

  2. 45before35 says:

    Sorry about the race – but you already ran the distance (albeit in training) – so you conquered it. When I had to scratch my full tri plans last fall because I fell pregnant there was disappointment – I worked so hard, blah, blah – however, one reason why I was working hard was to get pregnant. You have a great attitude about it. Keep it up.

    Like

Leave a Reply

