Weight Loss Update

Just over a month ago, I set a goal of losing 5 lbs by August 25th.  Click here to read that post.  On July 26th, I weighed in at 154 lbs, so I was aiming for 149 lbs.  Did I hit my target, you wonder?  I sure did!  As of Wednesday, I weighed 147 lbs, so I even lost a little extra – a total of 7 lbs.  Woohoo!

I’m going to try and lose another 5 lbs by September 25th, which would take me down to 142 lbs.  Wow!  I seriously don’t remember the last time I weighed so little.  Since I weighed 152 lbs when I got married 12 1/2 years ago, I’m going to guess it’s been at least 13 years since I’ve been this weight.  That’s pretty amazing!  I have come a long way (from 180 lbs in May of 2009), and the really good thing is that I still feel motivated to continue with the healthy eating and workouts.

I had always read that if you want to lose weight permanently, you have to treat any changes you make as lifetime changes, not short term.  That means not “dieting” but eating healthfully all the time, and leading an active lifestyle on an ongoing basis.  I feel like I’ve finally achieved this!  I’m not saying that I’ll never have a week or two or even four (vacation, anyone?) where I may indulge more and workout less than usual, but I know how much better I feel now that I’m active and eat well and I don’t want to go back to how I felt before, or how much I WEIGHED before.

It may seem like 5 lbs in a month is not that tough to do, but as I said here, losing even a pound a week is tough for me due to my PCOS.  Add in stress from school and a decrease in the volume and frequency of my workouts due to my school schedule, and you get a few hurdles for me to overcome in order to hit my target.  I know I can do it – I’ll just have to stick really closely to my eating plan and make sure the workouts I get in are good quality ones.

I get to run tomorrow to test out my IT band.  I’m nervous, but hopeful.  My half marathon is 2 weeks from today, so I’m really hoping that this run goes well.  If not, well, I guess I’ll be swimming tomorrow.  The rest of my week looks like this:

  • Tuesday: 300 workout (high rep strength workout)
  • Wednesday: swim and core
  • Thursday: gym workout with my trainer
  • Friday: 10k run (assuming my IT band is okay)
  • Saturday: off
  • Sunday: interval run

My kids are home from my parents – they were visiting for a whole week!  We went and picked them up yesterday.  Since I had CPR training yesterday afternoon and we had to drive an hour and a half to pick up the kids, I decided to bring my bike along and do my hour workout on the way, so to speak.  My husband dropped me off on the highway about 25k from where were were going.  Usually, I have an average pace of 22-23 km/hr, but it was pretty windy and I had a tailwind, so I figured a couple extra km would be enough to account for that.  I was wrong – it was SO windy that I had to add on several km at the end.  However, these were not as easy as the first 25k, because I had a severe crosswind and then a headwind for the last 750m or so.  I seriously thought about getting off and walking, it was so windy.  But I made it, and then had a cheeseburger and a few bites of an Oreo Blizzard at DQ with my family.  Yum!

What are your workout plans for the week?  Did you enjoy your weekend?

11 thoughts on “Weight Loss Update

  1. Karen says:

    That is so great with your weight loss! Keep up the good work 🙂

    I really like reading about how efficient you are. I try to be as efficient as possible myself because I have a lot going on also. It is inspiring to read about how you manage to fit it all in.

    And I love, love, love the “destination” workouts – like how you got dropped off in order to bike the remainder of the way. I like to do my runs as “destination runs” when I get the chance – such as run to a meet a friend for dinner, etc.

    Like

  2. Rae says:

    Congrats on reaching your goal! And thank you for your comment regarding strength training videos. I managed to borrow a copy of the Jillian Michaels DVD from a friend, but I will be sure the check out some of your other recommendations.
    Thanks again!
    Rae
    xo

    Like

  3. Angela (the diet book junkie) says:

    congratulations, that’s awesome!!

    i totally know what you mean about changing your lifestyle, not “dieting”. healthy eating shouldn’t be a short-term goal, it’s about fueling your body so you can live your best life! (and yes, i did just watch Oprah 🙂 )

    my workout plan is to slowly get back into running. my quad seems to be healed, i finished 8kms the other day, which i haven’t done in almost 2 months! hope your leg is doing well 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

