Sink or Swim?

I was back to school this week.  It’s my third year of dental school – third year is not for the timid.

The first week back is usually kind of slow, but I really feel like I’ve been thrown into the deep end this week!

At our school, third year is the year we really learn to become dentists, or so upper year students have told us.  And that’s really exciting.  However, this means that we’re working with patients a lot, we’re calling and booking in patients a lot, and we’re dealing with situations that are new to us a lot.  What does this amount to?  A lot of stress.

I’m not going to mince words – I am TIRED.  My kids were at my parents this week, so I’ve had the freedom to do my own thing, and I am still exhausted.  Some of that is just due to the change in routine, but it’s also due to the stress.

I’ve been eating quite healthfully, but my workouts are starting to slide.  I cut my bike ride 5 minutes short yesterday (at least it was only 5 minutes!) and I skipped my swim today after coming home and crashing on the couch.*Sigh*  I knew that this would happen, but I had thought I’d at least be able to get through the first week of school!  Apparently not.

Next week I’ve got a quiz, a case, and a test lined up.  Not to mention patients to see for the first time in months.  Gulp!  I’m starting to feel overwhelmed, and I’m only four days in!

On the other hand, I visited my physical therapist today and my IT band injury is not too bad.  No running this weekend, but I get to test it out on Monday.  I’ll be doing strength exercises, stretching, and foam rolling, and I still get to bike, swim, and lift weights.  Woohoo!  That’s good news!

Well, I’m off to bed to rest up for tomorrow!  We’ve got a fun afternoon planned. No, really – I’m being serious.  The entire college is getting together to hang out and play some beach volleyball.  Hope the weather is as nice tomorrow as it was today!

What’s your favourite healthy way to deal with stress when you’re short on time?  How do you boost your energy without caffeine and sugar?

13 thoughts on “Sink or Swim?

  1. Laury @thefitnessdish says:

    The secret to dealing with stress and a crazy schedule is planning! Always having something healthy on the go is key!!

    I haven’t drank coffee in oh, 10 years maybe?? Try a shot of wheat grass in the morning, you can actually by them portioned out and frozen at whole foods or your local healthy food store…they always give me a burst of energy..that and I add a half teaspoon Maca powder to my overnight oats!

    Best of luck with the beginning of your third year! I am sure you will kill it!

    Like

  2. couchpotatoathlete says:

    I have to plan my day/meals/workouts/etc in order to deal with the stress. Even if I’m at work and feeling overwhelmed, I sit down and make a list. Then as I do things I cross them off and I get a little bit of relief seeing that I’m almost done with everything.

    Honestly, when I am tired I usually need a little snooze. I try to drink plenty of water too. I don’t drink coffee much and I don’t have other caffeinated drinks (except maybe a cup or tea once in a while).

    Good luck, I think once you get in the swing of things it will get easier!

    Like

    • mostlyfitmom says:

      I’m also a list-maker. Last year I made lists on my computer a lot, but I think I’m going to go back to a paper planner and lists this year. There is something very satisfying about crossing tasks off the list, isn’t there?

      Like

    • mostlyfitmom says:

      Yup, think I’ll be powernapping a couple days a week, as I’m moving into early morning workout territory! Not as early as you, but sometimes those naps make you more productive for the rest of the day. Thanks for the tip!

      Like

  3. Angela (the diet book junkie) says:

    glad to hear your IT band is getting better!

    i guess everyone said it – to manage stress, planning and writing things down definitely helps. for me personally, i HAVE to exercise. not exercising just makes me feel worse. i also avoid sugar and junky food, which just robs me of all energy.

    hope you’re having a great weekend 🙂

    Like

  4. Kat says:

    This is so cliche but I hit the to-do list and blast the radio when I’m in the car. It keeps me sane.

    SO glad to hear that your IT band isn’t going to keep you out of the game!

    Like

  5. gracefulfitness says:

    Hummm, without caffeine? That’s a tough one. Honestly a fitness magazine or blog helps a lot, reading about the physical accomplishments of others gets me going. Also, like you said, music is a huge uplifter.

    Like

Leave a Reply

