Food Journal for Wednesday, August 18, 2010

Had an interval run to do this morning, so I had a light pre-workout snack: a handful of medjool dates, 1/2 a cup of yogurt, and then a 100 calorie pack of Craisins because I was still hungry.  My workout was tough, but I got it done and on pace.  I was really happy with it.  I’m not so sure about my pre-run snack, though.  I think it was a little too much solid food, so next time, I’ll try Gatorade beforehand, along with the handful of dried fruit and 1/2 c yogurt.  I think the Craisins were just too much for my stomach to handle.

Afterwards, I decided to try making banana oatmeal.  I had seen a recipe for it somewhere, but couldn’t remember where, so I winged it.

  • 1/3 c large flake oats
  • 1 banana, mashed
  • 1/2 tsp cinnamon
  • 3/4 water

I microwaved it until it was nice and thick, and then added 1/2 tsp vanilla and a touch of kosher salt.  Here’s what it looked like:

May not look that appetizing, but it was sort of like eating banana bread.

Yeah, so I may have to work on my presentation a little, but it was pretty good.  Sort of like eating warm banana bread, but not quite as sweet.  I’m sure if you added nuts (which I don’t have in the house) and brown sugar (which I just don’t like to add from a calories and glycemic index perspective) it would be divine!

Lunch was leftover chicken cacciatore and spaghetti from last night.  Click here for the recipe I tried.  It was good and had lots of veggies in it, but I thought there was a little too much liquid once it baked.  It could also have used a touch more oregano, but I do like my oregano.  Sorry, no pic!  I also had half an orange, because my daughter didn’t think it was juicy enough – haha!

My snack this afternoon was yogurt and 1 tbsp of chocolate chips.  I was making trail mix for the kids and couldn’t resist.

For supper, I tried BBQ Chicken Quesadillas using this recipe from How Sweet It Is.  They were perfect: simple to prepare with simple ingredients, and absolutely great flavour.  Thanks, Jessica, for the recipe!

BBQ Chicken Quesadillas

Alongside the quesadillas I had a salad with spinach, cucumbers, and tomatoes, and a little raspberry vinaigrette.

After supper, I treated my sweet tooth to another tablespoon of chocolate chips and some milk.  That’s a far cry from the half bag I used to eat in one sitting!  I really AM trying to practice moderation, so I make an effort to not feel guilty after a small indulgence.

How was your eating today?  Did you try any new recipes, or maybe you made an old favourite?  What’s your pre-workout snack like first thing in the morning?

10 thoughts on “Food Journal for Wednesday, August 18, 2010

  1. Angela (the diet book junkie) says:

    i don’t really have a pre-workout snack (i workout right before dinner) but your idea sounds delish! i love dates and all dried fruit. i eat muesli every morning, it’s a serious addiction.

    i’m not much of a cook, but today i made fish for maybe the….5th time in my life. for some reason, didn’t turn out so great. guess some stuff takes practice 🙂

    Like

  2. couchpotatoathlete says:

    The quesadillas look so good. I saw them on Jessica’s site and now I might have to try them.

    My eating was good on Wed and today I’m doing well so far. Yesterday I made Angela’s (Oh She Glows) Mexican Tortilla Pie — like a lasagna with pinto beans, black beans, salsa, soy cheese and tortillas. It is so delicious!

    Like

  3. Kat says:

    A. I always mean to make BBQ Chicken Quesadillas and then don’t, so thank you for biting the bullet and taking one for the team!

    B. My breakfasts are never gorgeous, but overnight oats and I have been BFFFF as of late. Seeing that banana oatmeal made me think about fall!

    Like

Leave a Reply

