What’s in YOUR Gym Bag?

I have a 7am session with my trainer tomorrow morning, so I decided I’d better get my gear together tonight (mornings suck!).  But before I could pack my gear in my gym bag, I figured it was time to clean it out.  Here’s what it looked like:

Before I disclose its contents, let me just say that I LOVE my gym bag.  I bought it last year as a motivator to get to the gym.  It’s a bright lemon yellow Lululemon bag and it makes my happy just to look at it.  Seriously, there are times I get to the gym and look at my bag and smile.  Tell me that wasn’t a worthwhile purchase!

Now, let me tell you what was in it, because it’s definitely some weird and random stuff:

  • Chapstick SPF 30 (in there from when I did my tri in June)
  • a black Goody headband (I wear one sometimes)
  • Speedo swim goggles
  • a plain blue swim cap plus 2 other ones: a bright yellow one and a bright green one, both from my first tri (Merlin Ford Lincoln Triathlon at Pike Lake, aka Spin Off Spadina)
  • 2 packs of Orbit gum (we can’t get it here in Canada, so this is some of the stuff I picked up when we were in Arizona in June; had to toss it because it had gotten wet  – not cool, ’cause I LOVE Orbit!)
  • a single shoe lace (useful, don’t you think?)
  • a water-stained sheet with a swim workout on it
  • a random receipt
  • my student I.D.
  • 2 Loonies
  • my inhaler (I have cold- and exercise-induced asthma)
  • a pen
  • a plastic bag with nose pieces for my swim goggles
  • a small binder clip (umm, what?)
  • a barrette
  • a travel-sized container holding Bumble & Bumble Sumotech
  • a toothbrush head cover (but no toothbrush – ha!)
  • a washable pouch for dirty stuff
  • Havainas flip flops
  • my lock

What SHOULD I have in my gym bag?

  • my cross trainers
  • a clean change of clothes and a hat for after my workout (I wear my workout stuff to the gym)
  • my toiletry bag
  • flip flops
  • my lock
  • my Garmin watch and heart rate monitor strap
  • swim goggles
  • plain blue swim cap
  • inhaler
  • headband
  • my water bottle
  • a post-workout snack
  • my iPod (for my warmup)

Now that I’ve confessed the contents of my gym bag, tell me: What’s in YOUR gym bag?  Does it get any more random than a binder clip and a toothbrush head cover?  What useful stuff do you stash in there?  Do you love your gym bag as much as I love mine?

14 thoughts on “What’s in YOUR Gym Bag?

  1. judy says:

    I have gel stuff to stop the rubbing between my thighs (gross I know), advil, face wash and moisturizer, a yoga mat (for yoga and post run stretching), band aids and clean underwear. I also have a seperate bag for my tennis stuff……
    Hey if you need more orbit gum I would be happy to send it your way, its my favorite too. Just email me:)

    Like

    • mostlyfitmom says:

      That’s a very sweet offer. Luckily, I am pretty stocked up on Orbit, despite losing those 2 packs. Maybe I need a separate bag for my swimming gear, like you have for your tennis gear 🙂

      Like

  2. 45before35 says:

    You do have a happy gym bag.

    If it makes you feel better – I have yet to construct my gym bag post preggers…..lord, I need to up my workouts. I will also extend the Orbit gum offer – seriously, I am happy to send some up your way.

    Like

    • mostlyfitmom says:

      After having a baby, sometimes you need to take baby steps (no pun intended!). Maybe this is the week to put a bag together! And anyway, I’m sure with all those races lined up you’ll be getting plenty of workouts in soon enough. Thanks for the Orbit offer! Luckily, my pantry is well-stocked, and we’ll be back in Arizona for the holidays, so my stash should last until then 🙂

      Like

  3. couchpotatoathlete says:

    I wish I had a super nice gym bag. Honestly I go to the gym in my workout clothes, at most I change my shoes when I get there. I bring a water bottle, my earbuds and my phone. I think if I swam I’d need an actual bag with actual gear. 🙂

    Like

    • mostlyfitmom says:

      That sounds like you have it all worked out! I’d rather get ready before and after at home, too. I’m so sweaty, though, that I have to usually get out of my wet clothes to get home to the shower. LOL Sorry if that was TMI 🙂

      Like

  4. Rae says:

    You should definitely sign up your kids for the fun run. My daughter will probably run less than that cause she is 3…different distances depending on age. But my friend told me that I could run with her if I wanted. So that is cool. Plus she gets a race t-shirt and every kid get an award. Should be fun!

    Like

  5. Rae says:

    Ooooh….that does look like a pretty gym bag. I actually don’t have a gym bag right now because I’ve been working out only by running and a little home stretch/weights routine. My purse….now that’s a list that could go on for days, lol!!
    Rae
    xo

    Like

  6. lowandbhold says:

    Oh gosh my gym bag is a wreck – currently I have a pair of shoes, a pair of workout capris, two workout capris, two pairs of socks, a pair of sock liners I took out of another pair of running shoes, body spray, hair spray, a pedometer, lots of miscellaneous receipts and who knows what else haha.

    Like

  7. Angela (the diet book junkie) says:

    i’m very forunate, my gym is in the basement of my apartment building so i don’t have far to go! i just bring my iPod, towel, book (yup, i’m one of those) and water bottle. but i prefer to run outdoors, much more exciting than staring at the wall 🙂

    Like

  8. Laury @thefitnessdish says:

    I LOVE your gym bag!! I am so jealous of it, haaa….Mine is a cheap grocery type bag from 5 and Below. I keep my lock, my ipod, my sneakers, a spare pair of shorts, baby powder and deodorant in it!

    Thanks SO much for your feedback on the school lunch programs, I think it will be a big help for bloggers who are submitting recipes!!!

    Like

  9. Beckie says:

    Well, in my gym bag I have wrappers from Luna Bars, my kids swim goggles, headphones, Heartrate monitor, old projects that my kids did at the child watch, locker lock, then random small junk that I really need to clean out. I love my bag, got it from Overland Equipment. Funny you did this post, I also asked this question on the BornFit FB page a while back, so when I saw this I had to comment ! 🙂 great idea!

    Like

Leave a Reply

