Food Journal for Friday

I usually like to journal the day of, but yesterday was pretty busy.  Kids had swimming in the morning, I did my long run in the afternoon while they were in skating camp, and then I had them on my own Friday night.  We watched a movie (Friday night is Family Movie Night around here), I quickly posted on my long run, and then it was bedtime – for everyone!  21k is tiring 😉

Since I ran in the afternoon instead of the morning, my eating schedule was off.  As a result, I didn’t eat what I normally do.

Breakfast: 1/3 c oatmeal, 1/4 c pumpkin, 2 tbsp raisins, 1 c skim milk

Snack (10:30am): 1/4 c dried apricots, Quaker Chewy granola bar

Pre-Run Snack (12pm): 2 pieces of dry whole wheat toast, banana

Pre-Run Drink (1pm): 1 3/4 c Gatorade

During the Run: 2 Mint Chocolate Gu’s, 1 Chocolate Powergel (definitely prefer the taste of Gu to Powergel)

Post-Run (4:30pm): 3/4 c Gatorade

Supper (5:30pm): 2 eggs, 2 slices whole wheat bread with 3 tsp margarine, 1/2 c chopped tomatoes, 1 c skim milk

Snack (7pm): 6 c buttery light microwave popcorn, 1 small box of Junior Mints

I was definitely short on veggies and meat/protein.  I had some tummy troubles during and after my run, so neither food group was very appealing last night.

I’m still trying to figure out what to eat beforehand to minimize the gastrointestinal issues.  Maybe crackers instead of toast next time?  I read this article by Nancy Clark, and I’m doing this for the most part.  But maybe oatmeal and whole wheat toast are too much fibre for my GI tract?

Anyone have suggestions on starches to eat before a run?  What else do you eat?

Leave a Reply

