New Recipe: Overnight Pumpkin Pie Oats

Head over to Oh She Glows for more recipes and great food pics http://ohsheglows.com/2010/08/07/pumpkin-pie-for-breakfast-yes-please/

I came across this recipe for Overnight Pumpkin Pie Vegan Oats at Oh She Glows the other day, and the idea of the flavours of pumpkin pie for breakfast has niggled at me ever since.  So, last night I mixed up a serving, kind of liking the idea that I could just open the fridge door and start eating in the morning.  Not that cooking oatmeal in the microwave is really tough, but sometimes instant gratification is nice, non?

Now, being that I’m not vegan, I don’t even know what chia seeds are (but should find out, because I am reading about these everywhere), and we don’t have nuts in our house (niece is very allergic and it makes me less nervous to simply ban nuts), the version I made was slightly different.

  • 1/3 c oats
  • 3/4 c skim milk
  • 1/3 c canned pumpkin
  • 1/4 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/8 tsp nutmeg
  • 1/8 tsp ginger
  • 1/2 tbsp maple syrup

I have to say that the flavour was really good.  The spices were perfect, and the touch of maple syrup really added to it.  Texture-wise, I found it a little runny (maybe it was the lack of chia seeds or the skim milk instead of almond?), but still very creamy.  Mind you, I like my cooked oatmeal really thick, so this might just be a personal preference.  It might also be that I need to add 1/2 cup oats rather than 1/3 cup.

Will I have it again?  Yes, definitely.  Will I have it everyday for a week?  No, but it’s a nice change, and I think overnight oats could definitely come in handy for those rushed mornings, when even two minutes in the microwave seems to be an eternity.

7 thoughts on “New Recipe: Overnight Pumpkin Pie Oats

Leave a Reply

