Pumpkin Oatmeal and Today’s Food Journal

I’m happy to report that I pretty much stuck to my meal plan today. Yay!

Saw a fantastic recipe for overnight oats that I haven’t tried out yet, over at Oh She Glows.  Click here for the recipe.  Plan to try it soon.

However, the key word in this case is “overnight,” and since I didn’t plan ahead but wanted to try out some pumpkin oats this morning, I tried this recipe from Allrecipes.com.

I should say up front that I did amend the recipe slightly.  Here’s what I did:

  • 1/3 c large flake oats
  • 1/2 c pumpkin
  • 3/4 c skim milk
  • heavy cinnamon
  • light nutmeg
  • a touch of ginger

Cooked them in the microwave until they reached the texture I wanted (in my microwave it took about 4 minutes, but our microwave sucks, so you’d probably need less time).

I found the pumpkin flavour quite heavy, so I stirred in a touch of vanilla (maybe 1/2 tsp) and 1 tbsp raisins.  Much better.  Sweeter and more flavourful with the additions.  I think that next time I’ll try 1/4 c pumpkin and 2 tbsp raisins or Craisins to increase the sweetness slightly.

Food Journal:

  • Breakfast: pumpkin oatmeal (so oatmeal, milk, and fruit all-in-one)
  • Lunch: leftover Triple Berry pork tenderloin, quinoa, cucumbers
  • Snack: yogurt, banana
  • Supper: Sticky Sesame Chicken, quinoa, steamed broccoli with a little margarine
  • Snack: orange, 8 Mini Wheats

All in all, not a bad day.  Those Mini Wheats keep sneaking in there, so I’ve got to keep an eye out!

My Nitpicky Food Journaling:

Just in case you’re wondering why I’m bothering to write those eight Mini Wheats, I find that if I don’t write things down (like three Mini Wheats or a tablespoon of chocolate chips), I will try to fool myself into thinking that I am eating less than I am, and suddenly I find that I’ve eaten half a bag of chocolate chips over the course of two days, or that I’ve eaten a cup and a half of Mini Wheats (or Cheerios, or fill-in-the-blank) in a day.  Sure, not a lot of calories (well, there are in chocolate), but those calories can sure add up quickly.  And even if I’m choosing relatively healthy foods, like Mini Wheats, those are still more calories than my body needs for me to lose weight.

Thus, the weird and somewhat random entries into my journal.  Keep an eye out for a sudden increase in the handfuls of cereal once the stress of the school year starts!  Less than two weeks away now – yikes!

UPDATE: Just mixed up the Pumpkin Pie Overnight Oats (I didn’t make them vegan 🙂 ) and they smell AMAZING!  I’ll be having them tomorrow morning for breakfast and will let you know how they are.  Most likely delicious, based on how they smell now.  Am actually looking forward to getting up tomorrow morning to try these.

4 thoughts on “Pumpkin Oatmeal and Today’s Food Journal

  1. couchpotatoathlete says:

    I can’t buy cereal anymore because I can eat it all in very little time!

    Good for you for writing down the handfuls of cereal, because they do add up, and if you don’t write them down you could easily forget! (at least I would!)

    Like

    • mostlyfitmom says:

      I think there would be a rebellion in my house if I stopped buying cereal. LOL However, I like your strategy of not buying things that you eat quickly – like graham wafers for me! Not totally a cookie, but so crunchy and delicious…

      Like

Leave a Reply

