Coming Up – Food Journal

Most days I journal what I eat, but I have to admit it’s been harder to stick to this during the summer when I have less of a routine and would much rather be doing other things (like compulsively reading other people’s blogs).  So, today I’ll be posting what I eat.  Check back later tonight and see if I had blueberries or bananas with my oatmeal, if I actually made the pork tenderloin in my meal plan, and if I ate all of my veggies.

I’m gonna bet yes, because there’s nothing quite so motivating as public commitment!  That’s why I started blogging, after all 🙂

Healthy eating!

UPDATE:

So, here’s what I ate today:

Breakfast: oatmeal with a sliced banana

Morning snack: skim milk (forgot to drink it at breakfast!), 4 Mini Wheats (opened up a new box of strawberry ones for my kids and couldn’t resist sneaking a couple!)

Lunch: the kids wanted soup and grilled cheese, so I had a grilled ham and cheese (part-skim pizza mozzarella, whole wheat bread, lightly buttered, and a couple slices of ham) and a spinach salad with cucumbers and Craisins (I didn’t add feta or dressing, because I figured there was enough fat in the sandwich)

Preworkout snack: 3 tbsp Craisins

Postworkout snack: banana, vanilla yogurt, and 1/4 c All Bran for some crunch

Supper: pork tenderloin (but not the  Grilled Apricot Mustard version I had originally planned; roasted with no-sugar-added triple berry jam – simple, but really good!); lots of zucchini sauteed with garlic and olive oil; and some quinoa, lightly sprinkled with cinnamon

So, not exactly as planned, but I think I did pretty well!  I’m putting aside an apple if I feel like a need a snack later.  And I’m drinking lots of water, too, so that I can be sure I’m not mistaking thirst for hunger.

Thanks for checking back!

5 thoughts on “Coming Up – Food Journal

  1. 45before35 says:

    Yes…a food journal it is a committment. Today I took pictures of my food – soon to be posted. It seemed awkward – I felt like people thought I was a little crazy at the restaurant and my 3 year old son demanded the iphone so he could take a photo of his food. And his picture wasn’t half bad:)

    Like

Leave a Reply

