Meal Planning Monday

Whew!  Last week flew by.  We ended up eating out more than planned due to schedule changes and my lack of desire to cook 🙂  So, I think I’ll take this as a sign that I need to simplify a little more, as we’re definitely in summer mode.  Here’s what I’ve come up with:

Monday:

  • Lunch: spinach, roma tomato, cucumber, pork tenderloin, vinaigrette, whole wheat bread
  • Supper: beef tenderloin (grilled), cucumber and tomato with oregano, leftover roasted potatoes, sauteed spinach

Tuesday:

Wednesday:

Thursday:

  • Lunch: leftover chicken; leftover quinoa; spinach salad with feta, tomatoes, vinaigrette; baby carrots
  • Supper: Cheesy Tomato Barley Bake (going to quadruple the recipe and freeze half), deli chicken, cooked carrots with dill and butter

Friday:

  • Lunch: leftover barley bake, leftover cooked carrots, leftover chicken
  • Supper: lean hamburgers on whole wheat buns, cucumbers, baby carrots

Saturday:

  • Lunch: eggs, whole wheat toast, chopped tomatoes with oregano
  • Supper: Multigrain Fish Fillets, roasted potatoes, steamed broccoli

Sunday:

  • Lunch: chicken quesadillas (from leftover deli chicken) with whole wheat tortillas, low fat cheddar, salsa, black beans; spinach salad with cucumbers, tomatoes, vinaigrette
  • Supper: Smart Pasta spaghetti, Blue Menu Italian Chicken Meatballs, spaghetti sauce, sauteed zucchini with olive oil and garlic

Lots of grilling, lots of leftovers for lunch.  I’m vowing no McDonald’s drive thru this week – always tempting when my husband is busy and I’m running around a lot with the kids.  The kids will eat it, it doesn’t require cooking, and it’s close by – but SO not healthy.  Grocery shopping tomorrow afternoon!

4 thoughts on “Meal Planning Monday

    • mostlyfitmom says:

      If you have a chance, I would recommend the chicken! But when I make it, I don’t get rid of the marinade. I just throw it all into a baking dish, and then once the chicken is done, I put the liquid in a small pot, bring to a boil, add a little water/flour mixture (depending on how thick I want it), and cook till it thickens. Yum!

      Like

  1. tanyasdaily says:

    I like the idea of meal planning…I only think it in my head..writing down is a more concrete way..good idea.

    I noticed that you are a mom also…and if you go to my above blog…I have a link to my other website in which i’m writing a book…and need mom’s inputs…….hope you can take a moment of your time and contribute..thanks ,I would appreciate it!

    Like

    • mostlyfitmom says:

      Writing it down makes a difference for me – I tend to stick to it better and I end up eating more healthfully 🙂

      I checked out your site and will have to think about it. “Suck it up and do it” is probably not the best advice I’ve received, but it’s the first thing that popped into my mind :0

      Like

Leave a Reply

