Long Run on Deck

My half marathon is just over a month away (Queen City Half Marathon, September 12th, 2010), so I’m in the heart of my training, or so my trainer/coach tells me 🙂  Tomorrow is Saturday, which means it’s long run day.  I’ve got a 20k to do, and I have to admit that I’m a little intimidated.

20k is a decent bike ride for me (just under 50 minutes or so at a comfortable pace) and is a distance that most people drive.  Sure I did 18k last week, but the memory of the lower body pain after 12k is enough to make me grimace even now.  On top of that, I’ve been struggling to maintain the pace I want, and my target pace is NOT fast at all.  It all adds up to make me feel a little nervous for tomorrow’s run.  Trying to psych myself up, but my brain is having none of it – ha!

For my past two long runs I’ve been trying out 10 and 1’s, and I have to say that it hasn’t been working for me.  See here for my experience last week.  I talked it over with my trainer and she left it up to me as to the approach I want to take tomorrow.

So, I’ve decided to run the first 8k without any breaks.  That’s an out and back route that brings me to my house to refill my water bottle.  I’ll run the next 2k without any breaks, and then at the 10k mark, I’ll switch to 15 and 2’s because I know that my legs are going to hurt and need little breaks during the second half of this run.  I will do my darnedest to only walk when I plan to walk and not in between.

Long Run Nutrition:

I’ll be using Gu (trying out vanilla, blackberry and maybe berry tomorrow) and just water.  Last week I had a piece of toast and half a banana before heading out, but I was really hungry by the end of the run.  I think I’ll try half a cup of yogurt and a piece of toast this time and see how that works for me – hopefully the protein in the yogurt will stick around a little longer than the sugar in the fruit!

Rest and Relaxation:

It should be an early night tonight.  My parents are taking the kids for the night (yay for grandparents!), so my husband and I have a rare evening to ourselves.  We’ve been invited over to our neighbours’ to watch some football (Go Riders!), and then I think we’ll head to a movie.  We’re thinking of seeing Inception or maybe Salt.  Hopefully I’ll be able to get myself into bed by 10:30pm or so and up around 6am for my run.   Wish me luck with that!

Green is the colour, football is the game...

2 thoughts on “Long Run on Deck

  1. couchpotatoathlete says:

    My husband and I saw Inception a few weeks ago and LOVED it. But I’ve heard Salt is pretty good too.

    I can’t stand the Gu’s – I like the mini clif bars. I’ll take a bite every couple of miles. It seems to sit in my stomach pretty well.

    Good luck on your run, but I know you’ll do great!

    Like

  2. mostlyfitmom says:

    Yeah, I know a lot of people don’t like the Gu, but I don’t mind it. Why mess with it if it works, right?

    Thanks for the words of encouragement! I’ll let you know once I try out the scuffins recipe 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

