Day 5 – Looked Temptation in the Eye and Didn’t Blink (Okay, I Blinked, but Didn’t Back Down)

As a wife and mom, I have found myself tempted, at times, by the food that my loved ones are indulging in.  Certainly, this was one of the major factors in what was approximately a 70 lb weight gain (yikes!) during the decade after I met my husband and started eating like he did.  Oh, sure, there were other factors: a desk job, an increasingly sedentary lifestyle, undiagnosed PCOS, etc., but for me, weight gain and loss are closely linked to how much I eat, much more than how much exercise I’m getting.

Today my son finished a one week stint at hockey camp, while my daughter wrapped up her dance camp (he didn’t want to dance, she didn’t want to play hockey, but I did ask haha), so I took them out for a celebratory milk shake at Jerry’s Food Emporium, because it’s summer and who doesn’t love a milk shake?  My son opted for a caramel cinnamon gelato shake, while my daughter’s included one scoop of dark chocolate gelato and one scoop of cookies and cream ice cream.  I helped  myself to a Diet Pepsi.  I will admit that I took one small sip of each to see how they tasted (2 small sips are okay, right?), but when there were leftovers, I looked at those beverage containers, thought about how good they would taste, thought about how I had committed to sticking to my meal plan for a week to kickstart my weight loss again, and then walked away.  Whew, disaster averted.

The rest of the day was pretty good from a cravings perspective.  Knowing that I was going to take the kids out for ice cream later, I made myself a smoothie of the fruit and yogurt I had planned for a snack.  Here’s the recipe:

1/2 c strawberries

1 c yogurt (lowfat, sweetened with Splenda; this time it happened to be peach flavoured)

1 1/2 c crushed ice

1 tsp Splenda

1/2 tsp vanilla

It was no milkshake, but it was good, cold, and very filling.

So, I maneuvered Day 5 successfully, sticking to my plan with a couple of fruit, veggie, and starch substitutions along the way.

Since I didn’t get my upper body workout in yesterday, I did it tonight.  It wasn’t anything spectacular, but it was solid.  Tomorrow is an 18k run, which just sounds so intimidating to me!  I just biked 19k last night, and to think that I’ll be running the same distance tomorrow seems weird, somehow.  It’s supposed to be hot tomorrow (high of 29 degrees), so I’ll be heading out early.  I’m aiming for 6:30am, but we’ll see.  Like I mentioned before, I’m not a morning person at all, so getting up early (and yes, I know it’s really not that early) feels TERRIBLE.  Still, running when it’s 29 degrees out is not that much fun either, so I’ll be laying out my gear tonight so that at least I don’t have to think about what to wear tomorrow.

The other thing about tomorrow’s run is that my last long run (16k) was really terrible – slow, painful, a lot more walking than planned – and I feel that it’s hanging over me a little.  I’m nervous that this run will be the same.  I’ve been trying to put it out of my mind, but haven’t had luck so far.  I’m trying to remind myself that I ran most of 16k last week, which is sure a lot more than I was running even a month ago, and that not every run/workout can be great.  Maybe I need some kind of mantra to repeat, something along the lines of, “Greatest run ever!” or “Just do it!”  I dunno – haven’t come up with anything catchy yet.  Maybe it’ll come to me in a dream, or maybe around 3k, when everything still feels good and I’m settling into a groove.

Good night!  I’m heading off to dream up a catchy mantra for tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

