Meal Planning Monday

As I mentioned, I’ve been working with a nutritionist since December 2009, and part of that process has involved meal planning.  This is supposed to occur on a weekly basis, but sometimes there just aren’t enough hours in the day/week and it just doesn’t get done.  I do find, though, that if I have a meal plan set out for the week, I have an easier time sticking to a healthy diet and not letting unhealthy snacks sneak into my mouth (okay, okay, so that doesn’t actually happen, but sometimes snacking can be so unconscious that it feels like the food sneaks in!).  I have tried 2 approaches to treats: 1) planning in a weekly treat, and 2) planning in a smaller, daily treat.  Both of these approaches have worked for me, but it’ll depend on my mindset at the time.  If I’m feeling motivated and I’m in a healthy eating groove, then a weekly treat is perfect (something along the lines of a cupcake…mmmm, cupcakes).  However, if my motivation has flagged and I find myself feeling deprived and thinking of chocolate a lot, then I plan in a daily treat – a small treat that’s individually wrapped, like a Lindt chocolate, works better for me.

Right now, I’m having trouble feeling motivated, but, at the same time, I have found it really hard to stick to just one chocolate at a time.  So, I’ve decided to go with the weekly treat this week, to break the snacking-on-chocolate-after-supper habit I seem to have developed as of late.

Since I didn’t have a chance to plan the first half of my meals for today, I’ll tell you what I have eaten so far (it does follow my rough eating guidelines, though, so I feel like I’m sticking to my overall plan):

7:15am (preworkout): a small satsuma orange and half a cup of yogurt

8:45am (postworkout): 1c of 1% chocolate milk

10am (breakfast once I got home from running a couple of errands): 3/4 c oatmeal with 1/4 c frozen blueberries

12:15pm (lunch): whole wheat hot dog bun, 2.8 oz of lean deli meat, 1 light cheese slice, 2 c of raw spinach, 2 tbsp mango, 2 tbsp avocado, 1 tsp sunflower seeds, 1/4 c mushrooms, 2 tbsp chopped tomatoes, 1/2 tbsp raspberry vinaigrette

And here’s what I’m planning for the rest of the day and week:

Snack: 1 c yogurt, 1 apple

Supper: 1 c raw spinach (plus a little mango, avocado, mushrooms, tomato, sunflower seeds thrown in), 1/2 tbsp raspberry vinaigrette, 3 oz grilled shrimp, 1 c quinoa, 1 c grape tomatoes

Snack: 3/4 c grapes

Tuesday:

Pre-workout: 1/2 c yogurt, small satsuma orange

Post-workout/Breakfast: 3/4 c oatmeal, 1/2 c frozen blueberries, 1 c skim milk

Snack: 1/2 c grapes

Lunch: 3 oz shrimp, 1 c quinoa, 1 c grape tomatoes, 1 c spinach salad with 1/2 tbsp raspberry vinaigrette

Snack: 1 c yogurt, apple

Supper: 3 oz chicken breast, 1 c roasted potatoes (with olive oil and garlic), 1 c roasted asparagus

Snack: satsuma orange

Wednesday:

Breakfast: 3/4 c oatmeal, apple, 1 c skim milk

Snack: banana

Lunch: 3 oz chicken breast, 1 tortilla (whole wheat), 1/4 c grilled pineapple, 2 tbsp salsa, 2 tbsp lowfat shredded cheese, 1/2 c grape tomatoes, 1 c cucumbers

Snack: 1 c yogurt, 1/2 c pineapple

Supper: 3 oz lean steak (sirloin or tenderloin), 1 c brown rice, 1 c steamed broccoli

Snack: satsuma orange

Thursday:

Pre-workout: 1/2 c yogurt, satsuma orange

Post-workout/Breakfast: 3/4 c oatmeal, 1/2 c yogurt, 1/4 c blueberries

Snack: apple

Lunch: 3 oz deli meat, 2 slices whole wheat bread, 1/2 c spinach, 1/2 c cucumbers, 1/2 c baby carrots

Snack: 1 c yogurt, banana

Supper: 3 oz tangy grilled pork tenderloin, 1 c green beans, 1 c corn

Snack: 1/2 c pineapple

Friday:

Breakfast: 3/4 c oatmeal, 1/2 c blueberries, 1 c skim milk

Snack: apple

Lunch: 3 oz pork tenderloin, 1 c roasted potatoes, 1/2 c grape tomatoes, 1/2 c baby carrots

Snack: 1 c yogurt, 1/2 c strawberries

Supper: 3 oz lean beef, 2 c raw spinach, 1 tbsp feta, 1 tbsp Craisins, 1/2 tbsp raspberry vinaigrette, 1/2 c grape tomatoes, whole wheat/multigrain bread (30g) with 1 tsp margarine

Snack: 30g light microwave popcorn, 1/2 c pineapple

Saturday:

Pre-workout (18k run planned): 1 slice whole wheat toast with no sugar added jam, 1/2 banana, maybe some Gatorade

Workout: 2-3 gels (depending on the length of the run), plus water and maybe some Gatorade (depending on the weather and how I feel)

Post-workout: 3/4 c oatmeal, 1/2 c blueberries, 1 c skim milk

Snack: banana

Lunch: 2 eggs, 2 slices whole wheat bread, 1 c chopped tomatoes with oregano

Snack: 1 c yogurt, apple (maybe an extra piece of fruit and veggies if I’m feeling hungry from my long run)

Supper: 3 oz grilled chicken, 1 c grilled potatoes, 1 c grilled veggies (zucchini, mushrooms, peppers with garlic and olive oil), WEEKLY TREAT: 1 serving apple blueberry crisp

Snack: 1/2 c strawberries

Sunday:

Breakfast: 3/4 c oatmeal, apple, 1 c skim milk

Snack: orange

Lunch: 3 oz chicken, 1 c peas , 1 c pasta (Catelli Smart Pasta) with olive oil and garlic

Snack: 1 c yogurt, 1/2 c grapes

Supper: 3 oz sticky sesame chicken thighs, 1 c brown rice, 1 c steamed broccoli

Snack: 1/2 c blueberries

Okay, so that’s my (really long-winded) meal plan for the week.  So far, I’ve been sticking to my plan today – my reward for today is watching The Girl With the Dragon Tattoo, and I’m really excited to watch it.  I’ll update tomorrow on how the rest of the day’s eating goes.

Leave a Reply

