Skip to content

Day 17 of 30: I’m Sick, and the Riders Won!

November 17, 2013

So either the week caught up to me, or I was feeling tired this week because I caught something and it was working its way through my system.

Last night, after we got back from my son’s hockey tournament, we were supposed to go over to our neighbours’ house for drinks. I really wasn’t feeling well and curled up on the couch with two blankets. I ended up falling asleep around 8:15pm, while my husband went over to our neighbours’ party. Around 9pm I headed upstairs and got myself ready for bed. I was asleep by 9:15pm. I woke up around 8am, still feeling headachy and slightly nauseous. I basically moved from my bed to the couch, where I camped out pretty much all day. Luckily, I was planning to spend the afternoon watching football (CFL) anyway, so I didn’t really have to change any plans.

I watched two football games, focusing, of course, on the Saskatchewan Riders vs. Calgary Stampeders game. I was braced for my team (the Riders) to lose, but incredibly, they pulled off a definitive win and are playing in the Grey Cup next weekend. This is Super Big Deal because Saskatchewan is hosting the 101st Grey Cup in Regina this year. We’re talking big-time home field advantage for the Riders. Also, since the Riders are the only pro team we have in this province, people are hard-core about the Riders, so it’s going to be a week-long, crazy party in Regina and Rider Pride will be in full force throughout the province.

I’m going to bed and planning to sleep in. How do you recover when you’re under the weather?

One Comment leave one →
  1. November 18, 2013 12:20 pm

    It’s so exciting about the Riders!!! The city is going to be INSANE! Haha!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 90 other followers