Skip to content

Caught a Fall Cold. It Sucks.

September 24, 2012

I have been hit by a fall cold.  When I woke up yesterday morning, it was with a very sore throat and I was super dizzy, but pretty much only when I was lying down.  I honestly can not remember a time in the past when I experienced dizziness like this.  It was sort of like when you consume a couple of bottles of wine on your own and then lie down and try to steady the world by putting your foot on the floor…not that I have ever done that *shifts her eyes guiltily.*  Anyway, Sudafed is getting me through the day and keeps the dizziness at bay.

I figured since, with medication, I felt good enough to go to work I could go see my physio.  I was sure to wash my hands thoroughly so as to minimize any transmission to the outside world, and I also warned him that I was sick.  Let’s hope this doesn’t get passed on.  My kids and husband are so far fine, so let’s hope that keeps up.

So, the physio visit went well, with no acupuncture/dry-needling involved today, because apparently my hips are the most level they’ve been since I’ve been seeing him.  Apparently all the stretching is paying off.  Now I get to move on to strengthening exercises, which doesn’t sound like a big deal, but considering that during the past several months I have been limited to foam rolling, stretching, and pretending I’m a pin cushion (aka acupuncture), I feel like it’s a big step forward.

My workouts have been few and far between, but I have started working with a dietitian and have started losing weight.  I’ve also been drinking lots of water, so my skin’s looking pretty good.  I’m drinking 2L of water per day (about 8 cups), plus whatever other beverages I happen to drink, so I’ve been fully hydrated for the first time in a long time.  When I started working with this new dietitian, I had to track everything I was eating and drinking for a few days.  There were a couple of days where I consumed 2 cups of water!  No wonder I was so parched at the end of the day.

Off to yell at my kids to go to bed, and I’ll probably crawl in soon, too, even though it’s only 9pm.  I am totally wiped.

How are you celebrating the arrival of fall?  I’m hoping it’s not with a cold like me…

3 Comments leave one →
  1. September 24, 2012 11:05 pm

    Sorry to hear that you caught a cold :-( I had one at the end of summer, but luckily it only lasted 3 days. I am not celebrating the arrival of Fall just yet. I am still clinging on to summer with a tight grip!!

  2. September 25, 2012 8:38 pm

    Cold here too….I *think* I’m on the tail end of it and may be allowed to run tomorrow. Here’s hoping–colds stink! I hope you are feeling better very soon. Congrats on graduating to strength exercises in PT!

  3. September 27, 2012 10:17 pm

    Oh I am sorry to hear you have a cold :( Good work on the water consumption!!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 90 other followers