Skip to content

Packing for the Olympics

July 30, 2012
tags: ,

The last week has flown by.  No meal planning today, as we’re leaving for the Olympic Games in London tomorrow!  The kids are with my parents while we’re away, so today I’m getting a bunch of stuff done without interruption: laundry, paperwork, my workout, packing, and Olympics-viewing on TV.

Was up at 4:30am this morning, part of a plan to head off jet lag.  Planning to be in bed by 7:00pm tonight, with the hope that I will be able to sleep having been up so early today.  Setting my alarm for 3am tomorrow morning, which is 10am in London.  Our flight to London, the second leg of our journey, departs from Calgary at 6:40pm, which is 1:40am London time.  Wanting to minimize the effects of the time difference, we’re planning to get on that plane, put on the eye masks, and sleep as best we can.  Benadryl may be involved.  Our flight will arrive at Heathrow at 10:15am and we want to enjoy the full day.  I’m hoping that caffeine upon arrival, getting outside and into the sunshine (well, at least into the daylight – we’ll see what the weather’s like), and soaking in the excitement of the Olympics will allow us to make the most of our first day there.

I have so much stuff running through my head that I want to blog about, and yet, blogging never seems to happen these days.  Well, here’s a little randomness that summarizes what I’ve been excited about lately:

  • I am addicted to Pinterest.  Seriously, have been getting the best ideas for kids activities and have finally found a good way to keep all of the online recipes I want to try in one place.
  • I love the Olympics.  So, so much.  I’ve been watching every chance I get, flipping between channels, and following results via Twitter.
  • Speaking of the Olympics, I hosted a little kids’ Olympics party last Friday afternoon while the Opening Ceremony was unfolding.  The kids had fun and were entertained, but I didn’t have a chance to watch the Opening Ceremony closely as a result.  Pictures hopefully forthcoming.
  • While we were away camping the other weekend, my husband and I – with a little help from our kids – put together a travel bucket list.  It is gigantic and entirely unrealistic, I’m sure.  However, it was fun to talk about it and made our drive a little less onerous.  Expect me to post our list sometime soon.
  • I’ve been doing quite well with working out consistently.  I’m still working on the eating – so hard to turn down summer goodies with all the social events going on! – but I’m feeling stronger and fitter.  I still want to find a new personal trainer, but it’s not the highest thing on my priority list at the moment.  For now, I’ve been following the workouts from The New Rules of Lifting for Women, practicing yoga about 4 days per week, and walking 4 days per week.
  • My summer bucket list is well in hand.  Want to post that, too, but it hasn’t happened yet, as with some many of my to-dos.
  • Took the kids camping two weekends ago.  Weather for the first day was not the best, but we had s’mores and hot chocolate, so that made up for it.  Hope to get around to posting pics, because the scenery in the Cypress Hills is amazing.
  • Just over a week away from owning my own dental practice.  This is not so much exciting as terrifying, though.

A little more about our Olympic plans:

As I’ve mentioned previously, my husband’s cousin Brianne Theisen is competing in heptathlon at these Games.  We threw caution to the wind with respect to our line of credit and, with the help of Brianne’s dad (my husband’s first cousin), we booked a package via Ludus Tours.  Ludus was able to source tickets for Athletics for Friday evening and Saturday morning, two of Brianne’s four sessions.  We found out yesterday, though, that Brianne’s grandparents (my husband’s uncle and and) are now unable to attend and we were given the opportunity to take over their hotel booking and tickets for Athletics.  This means we’ll be staying at the same hotel as Brianne’s parents and will be sitting with them in premium seating for all four of Brianne’s sessions (Friday morning and evening and Saturday morning and evening).  While obviously we felt terrible for Brianne’s grandparents, we are totally stoked about the tickets we’ve now managed to score.  I can’t believe I’m actually going to the Olympics!

How is your summer unfolding?  Anyone else surprised by Michael Phelps’ performance so far?

4 Comments leave one →
  1. July 30, 2012 3:30 pm

    Wow, have a great time! So amazing! My summer has been fun, but not as epic as yours is about to become. I’m enjoying the Olympics too, but as we don’t have cable, I’m having to find sneaky ways of watching….

  2. July 30, 2012 6:02 pm

    I have to admit I don’t watch the Olympics at all, and never really have … but I hope you have a fabulous trip!!! That is super exciting :-)

  3. August 3, 2012 2:43 pm

    Watching your husband’s cousin right now! Hope you’re having a great time.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 96 other followers