Skip to content

Meal Planning Monday

July 23, 2012

Monday

Lunch: ham and cheese wraps, cherry tomatoes, baby carrots

Snack: fresh pineapple, vanilla yogurt

Supper: Italian sausage, potatoes, baby carrots, all done on the grill (yay for barbecuing baskets!)

Tuesday

Lunch: spaghetti and meat sauce, cucumbers, carrots

Snack: microwave popcorn, chocolate milk

Supper: Maple Salmon (recipe from Allrecipes.com), Parmesan-Roasted Broccoli (a Barefoot Contessa recipe), whole wheat rotini

Wednesday

Lunch: grilled cheese sandwiches, spinach salad with berries and feta

Snack: strawberry-banana smoothies

Supper: honey garlic chicken thighs on the grill, Zucchini and Carrot “Fries” (recipe from Voracious Vander), quinoa

Thursday

Lunch: hot dogs, cucumbers, steamed broccoli

Snack: apple slices, cherry yogurt

Supper: grilled pizza (recipe from Sunset, probably one margherita and one with leftover honey garlic chicken), spinach salad

Note: we tried the pizza crust from the Sunset recipe last week and it was SO GOOD.  Put half in the freezer for this week.  However, in the future, I will divide the full recipe into thirds and freeze two portions, as each third portion of the recipe will make two decent-sized pizzas.

Friday

Lunch: cheese and grilled chicken quesadillas, celery, baby carrots

Snack: mini bagels with cream cheese and fruit (green grapes, pineapple, strawberries, blackberries, and blueberries – note the Olympic colours in honour of the opening ceremonies Friday).  Idea from tipjunkie.com.

Supper: leftovers

I really tried to keep my meals simple this week, and I’ve been doing a lot on the grill.  That’s what summer’s all about, right?

6 Comments leave one →
  1. July 24, 2012 5:49 pm

    Wow, great job on that week! I may have to borrow some of those recipes….

  2. July 24, 2012 6:12 pm

    I never thought about doing a honey-garlic chicken. That sounds just lovely, really. I think I may need to add that to my “to make” list!

    • July 24, 2012 6:21 pm

      I really just throw together some honey (about 1/2 c?), soy sauce (1/4 c?), and lots of garlic (probably 4-6 cloves) and then marinate the chicken in it. Simple. Good.

  3. July 25, 2012 5:08 am

    Wish I had a grill….but I’d need a yard for that one! Isn’t going to happen anytime soon.

    How is the trip planning going?

  4. July 25, 2012 10:26 am

    ooo that maple salmon sounds phenomenal!

  5. July 28, 2012 11:55 am

    I haven’t meal planned in a while, and I really should because I waste a lot less when I plan out meals for the week.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 93 other followers