Skip to content

The Light at the End of the Tunnel

March 18, 2012

Dental school is not done yet, but I do see a faint light at the end of the tunnel.  I still have lots of clinical work left to do and will be at school after finals finishing said clinical work, but at least things should be over with in a couple of months.  And that’s all I have to say about that. (Name that movie!)

With my school workload easing up and a whole lot less stress affecting me, I’m starting to turn back into myself.  I didn’t fully realize how stressed out I was and how just plain negative I was being until about a week after boards, when I found myself smiling and dancing around to a song I had in my head.  I didn’t realize that I had forgotten what it was like to be in a good mood.

Since then, I’ve been listening to my favourite songs more on my iPod; hugging, kissing, cuddling, and playing with my kids more; generally being nicer to my husband and remembering to hug and kiss him, too (and grab his butt every once in awhile *wink*); calling my family and talking about things other than how miserable school is; fitting in yoga; and doing household chores without dread. (It’s a bad sign when the idea of having to put a dish in the dishwasher overwhelms you because you are just so. stressed. out.)  Yesterday, not only did I make cupcakes with my daughter (with green, mint icing for St. Patrick’s day, natch), see a movie with my husband (21 Jump Street – super funny), but I also went for a walk/run for the first time in a long time.  It was fantastic.  The sun was shining, and 15 minutes into my workout, I decided to turn around so I could loop by my house and drop off the shell and midlayer I was wearing because it was so nice and warm.  There was a whole lot more walking than running (4 min walking/1 min running x 12), and I’m really okay with that.  My left IT band feels tight today and my left knee has just a hint of soreness, but I know that if I ease into this, continue with yoga, start seeing my physio and doing my exercises again, and start strength training that I will get this IT band thing under control.  I plan to do some 5k’s this year and maybe a couple of 10k’s (no details yet), but until I get stronger, I’m making myself hold off on racing any longer distances.

Speaking of future plans, we’ve also booked a post-dental school vacation (using travel reward points we racked up while I was in dental school – haha!) and will be visiting “the happiest place on earth.”  That’s right – we’re going to Disney World!  And also Universal Orlando, where of course we will be checking out the Wizarding World of Harry Potter!!!!! It’s going to be so much fun.  My son, who’s nearly 8, has become a Harry Potter fan over the past year, so he’s very excited and wants to get a wand at Ollivander’s.  I want to try out the butterbeer…

We’re starting out a Universal, and will be staying at one of the onsite hotels for a few days before we head over to the Polynesian Resort at Disney World.  Let me just say that I am a total sucker for Disney and wanted easy access to the Magic Kingdom, which is my favourite of the parks and will hold the most interest for my kids, who will be 6 and 8 when we visit.  Thus, we made the decision to stay the Polynesian Resort, which is on the monorail line.  Only one stop away from the Magic Kingdom!  I’ve planned several character meals, because the kids really enjoy interacting with the Disney characters and who wants to line up for hours in the park to do that?  I would much rather be on a ride than be waiting in line.

Our last visit to WDW, 3 years ago

Being that I’m sort of hardcore about vacation planning, I’ve also scheduled pirate makeovers for all four of us at The Pirates League and that night, we’ll be heading out on a Pirates and Pals Fireworks Voyage.  On our last Friday at WDW, Star Wars Weekend will be taking over Hollywood Studios.  I wasn’t sure we would want to brave the crowds, but in addition to becoming a Harry Potter fan, my son has also become a Star Wars fan (and Indiana Jones fan – that’s my boy!), so we’ve decided that we’ll go ahead and check out the action.  Did I mention that my husband and I are also into Star Wars? Yeah, I might turn into a kid myself that day.  Oh, and I’m also considering matching family T-shirts for the trip.  (Why, yes, I am a big nerd!)

Once we’ve hit the theme parks, we’ll be spending a few days relaxing at the nearby Hyatt, which apparently has an amazing pool area but is way more affordable than the Disney hotels.  I love Disney and love the convenience of staying on-resort when we’re visiting the parks, but I don’t mind saving a little cash (or, in this case, reward points) either.

Goals for the Week

Today: yoga

Tomorrow: 30 min walk/run

Tuesday: yoga

Wednesday: off

Thursday: 30 min walk/run

Friday: yoga

Saturday: 60 min walk/run

Sunday: yoga

 

 

 

 

5 Comments leave one →
  1. terzahb permalink
    March 18, 2012 3:39 pm

    So good to hear you relaxed and planning a vacation and your week’s workouts!

    And I agree, it is *very* important to grab one’s husband’s butt sometimes. :^)

  2. March 18, 2012 7:10 pm

    How cute are the kids in that snap? They’re beyond adorable.

    I’m so glad that things have started to lighten up a bit, as it were. Enjoy the weather, the working out, and the time with family. It is so deserved.

  3. March 18, 2012 10:14 pm

    So happy for you!!! Your family must be loving the extra time that they get to spend with you :-)

  4. Stacey Garner permalink
    March 19, 2012 7:32 pm

    sounds awesome!!!!

Trackbacks

  1. Workout Update « Mostly Fit Mom

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 96 other followers