Skip to content

8 of 28: Upper Body Workout

October 11, 2011

By the time I got home tonight (after my daughter’s hockey practice and a meeting for the parents of my kids’ school), I was beat.  I was so tempted to just call it a night and hit the hay early, but I didn’t.  Instead, I thought about how much better I always feel after I workout – energized, proud that I fit it in, stronger – and got out the dumbbells.  I did an upper body workout balancing on my Bosu, with a little lower body thrown in there.  As I relaxed against my Bosu after my last set of incline chest press, I drifted off.  You know you’re tired when you wall asleep on the living room floor, using a Bosu as a pillow…

Eating wise, I was much improved over the non-stop eating and consumption of sugar that was my weekend.  I did have a slice of poppy seed loaf at supper time, but not on it’s own.  Still, I think it definitely counts as a treat, so boo to that.  I didn’t meet my goal there.  Tomorrow is another day, though.

Goals for tomorrow:

  • no treats
  • 30 min of cardio (stationary bike or walking)
It’s going to be another busy day tomorrow.  We’re spending the evening interviewing babysitters, so I think it’ll be challenging to fit those 30 minutes in.
What’s your favourite upper body strength move?  I love pushups because they’re hard and work more than one body part.  I also love incline pullups for the same reason.
7 Comments leave one →
  1. October 11, 2011 11:17 pm

    ‘8 of 28: Upper Body Workout’ : I find reading your posts very inspirational. Please keep it up! :) Thanks!

  2. October 11, 2011 11:28 pm

    I love a good old shoulder press!

  3. October 12, 2011 9:53 am

    You are doing great with your goals! Don’t sweat the small slips.

    My new favorite upper body exercise is the assisted chin-up. I’m trying to work up to doing one unassisted chin-up, so I’m hoping to see my assist weight go down to nothing!

  4. October 12, 2011 4:03 pm

    Push-ups for sure! Keep up the great work.

  5. October 12, 2011 6:43 pm

    I’m a fan of planks because I feel like they’re multi-purpose. Abs, arms and inner thighs all at once!

  6. October 13, 2011 10:59 pm

    As weird as it sounds, I love bench pressing!

  7. October 14, 2011 3:21 am

    Plank pose and also push-ups with my feet on an exercise ball (if I’m ambitious, I alternate between push ups and pulling the ball in with my legs for an extra core move).

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 91 other followers