Skip to content

School’s In, Summer’s Out: Why My Bed Time is Earlier Than My Kids’

August 29, 2011

It’s 8:45pm and I am honestly, seriously thinking about going to bed soon.  It’s been a long day, with a crazy long wait to take x-rays + a patient with a “challenging” personality in the clinic this morning (school started last week, but clinics started this week, so today’s patient was my first for the school year) and a long afternoon of calling patients to try and book them in.  I was unable to get a patient for this afternoon and still haven’t found one for tomorrow afternoon.  One of my least favourite parts of dental school is having to line up almost all of my own patients.  And really, there are a lot of crappy things about dental school, so that’s saying a lot.

Some bad news about my running today: I think I’m going to have to pull the plug on my half, for real.  I got the okay from my physio to try running this week, and after less than 1k, my IT band started to ache by  my knee.  Bummer.  I have to admit that as I walked home, I sort of wanted to cry (I didn’t).  And then I was just sad for awhile.  I’m okay now, and I’m trying to keep in mind that I want to be a runner, not a former runner.

My eating has been pretty ugly the past couple of days.  Hello, chocolate, thanks for coming by to comfort me.  Yes, I’ve been doing a little emotional eating over the weekend, as it’s just hit me how long my to-do list is these days.  Yikes!   Part of the issue is that I haven’t been eating enough earlier in the day and then end up being a ravenous beast once I get home.  Must get on top of packing a good lunch and snacks (along with the 2 million other things I should be doing – haha!).

I’m supposed to be studying right now, but I think I’m going to go wash my face, brush and floss, and crawl into bed.  I am officially pooped.

By the way, I’m hitting the hay, but my kids are still up because while I have school tomorrow, they don’t start until next week.  How lame is that?

What do you prioritize when work/school starts getting busy?  Are you one of those virtuous folks who manages to fit in her workouts, do you hit the hay nice and early, or do you just hang on and do your best?

 

11 Comments leave one →
  1. stacey permalink
    August 29, 2011 10:58 pm

    Jo so sorry to hear about the half but like the positive thoughts. I know this summer there was a time where we (physio and doctors and training partner) thought I might have to pull the plug, so I get the stress of the battle.
    I hear ya on the to do list being crazy! The crazier it gets the more I want to hide, not the best coping. I am the person that stays up crazy late to get things done I get a second wind around 10:00. Not the best when I wake up at 4:30 though.

    Stay positive you are doing so great, very inspiring!

    • August 30, 2011 10:26 pm

      So QCM again this year? Glad you worked through your injury. Mine was getting better, but then it went downhill C’est la vie, I guess. I’ll eventually get it sorted out :)

      I used to stay up, but I don’t know if it’s age or what, but I find that I shut down after 10:30pm now. At least I’m finding it easier to get up early if I have to!

  2. August 30, 2011 12:12 pm

    I hang on and do my best! Some days are good and some are pretty horrible to be honest.

    Sorry about the 1/2 but it sounds like your head is in the right place.

  3. August 30, 2011 4:14 pm

    Lady, I’m so sorry that you have to axe your half! When I’m trying to analyze the pain I have while running, I always ask myself the same question – is this former-runner pain? Or is it manageable?

    As for workouts, most of mine are after work, so there’s not as much of a decision making process that goes on there. I do try to go to sleep early the night before a long run though.

    • August 30, 2011 10:29 pm

      I do wish I could manage to do it right after school, because I find that that’s the best time of day to work out – as long as I don’t have to rush home. We haven’t quite sorted out the after-school care for the kiddos yet, but once we do, I hope to come up with a workable schedule. I wish I could do mornings, but I find I end up missing more workouts that way because I just hate getting out of bed. Maybe once I’m a grownup I’ll be able to get up in the morning? :)

  4. August 30, 2011 9:34 pm

    Ha – I can’t fit in a workout to save my life! I get INSANELY busy around this time of year … and it lasts until Christmas pretty much.

    • August 30, 2011 10:31 pm

      Well, maybe it’ll be better once you’re done with your own classes. You’re squeezing a lot into the 24 hrs you have in a day!

  5. August 30, 2011 11:34 pm

    Hey Joanne!
    You are the winner of my giveaway, I tried emailing you but no suck luck! Can you email me – bubblymel@hotmail.com. Thanks!

  6. August 31, 2011 8:29 am

    I’m so sorry to hear about the race! That sucks, but it’s better to heal properly than to push it. :)

  7. August 31, 2011 9:47 am

    I’m sorry about the race too! I’m sure it’s such a huge disappointment for you but in the long run you’ll be glad you followed the doctor’s advice.

    I get up early, lik 5:15 am so I can fit in a workout before everything else that goes on during the day. If I have it hanging over my head I just can’t stand it! But I also go to bed really early, 9:30- 10pm. Sometimes I feel like I have no life!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 93 other followers