Skip to content

Exams, Round 2

May 8, 2011

Unexpectedly, I was the first person in my household to awaken this morning.  Now, normally this wouldn’t be something I’d comment on or even think about, but today was Mother’s Day and I knew my kids had a plan to make breakfast in bed for me.  This, of course, meant that I still had to be in bed for everything to go according to their plan.  However, I also had a plan, and that was to start studying by 8am.  Unfortunately when I opened my eyes it was already 7:30, so I knew my schedule would need to be revised.

I nudged my husband awake, ever-so-gently, and pointed out the time, suggesting that he get things rolling.  After a few minutes, or 10, and after hearing our son get up and head downstairs, my husband rounded up our daughter and proceeded to the kitchen.  Not wanting to ruin the “surprise,” I stayed in bed and relaxed/dozed.

At one point, my daughter came into my room to check on me, saying, “Mommy, don’t wake up.  We’re making breakfast in bed.”  Um, okay then.

A few minutes later I heard the door open again.  This time it was my son, who thoughtfully brought me a heated gel pack, placing it on my back so that I would be “nice and cozy.”  After a kiss on the cheek, he went back to the kitchen to help his dad.

Finally, the troops returned, with french toast, eggs, orange juice, tea, and condiments.  I opened presents, read cards, and ate my specially prepared breakfast under the watchful eyes of my kids, who wanted to make sure I enjoyed it.  My son had made a really nice necklace for me, and my daughter had made a little tealight holder out of a baby food jar and tissue paper!  I’m actually pretty impressed with their teachers for coming up with some really nice crafts for them to make.

Fully fuelled, I studied like mad until 12:15pm, whereupon we took my parents out for lunch.  Unfortunately, that took longer than expected despite choosing a restaurant that really wasn’t busy.  Ah, well, the best laid plans…

Once I got home, I hit the books again and have really stayed focused. I’m pretty happy with myself for staying on track today, despite the longer-than-expected lunch.  As a result, I’ve added Bossypants to my amazon.ca cart; stretched, foam-rolled, and watched a little TV; and I downloaded The King’s Speech.  According to my goals for today, I’ve also earned myself a nice, relaxing bath, but I’m feeling so tired that I’m afraid I might fall asleep in the tub!  I’ll just save that for tomorrow, after my test.

Speaking of my test, it’s the 6th of the 10 I have to write. It’s oral pathology, and there is so much material to know, it all sort of starts to blend together after awhile.  I’m not looking forward to the exam, but I’m sure looking forward to it being done.

Goals for tomorrow:

1. Healthy breakfast: I’ve got some steel cut oats already made and ready to go, plus some fruit and milk.

2. Final cram session, starting at 6:30am.

3. Write what I expect to be the toughest exam of the year.

4. Lunch.  If I’m done my exam early, go for a run and then take a bath.

5. Study fixed for 2 hours, endo(dontics) for 2 hours.

6. Supper and stretch.

7. Study diagnosis for 4 hours.

8. Rewards for the day:

- afternoon: enjoy a nice cup of tea and relax for 10 minutes (thanks for the suggestion, Holly!)

- evening: download and listen to the “Relief from Stress and Pressure” podcast from iTunes (FREE!)

- all day: add Furious Love to my cart

I think I had a pretty good day, all things considered.  How did you spend your Mother’s Day?

7 Comments leave one →
  1. May 8, 2011 10:58 pm

    It sounds like you had a great mother’s day!!! I am glad you made some time for relaxing in bed while your breakfast was being made, lunch with your parents, and some TV!!!

    Best of luck tomorrow on that tough exam! You will do great :-)

    • May 9, 2011 9:06 pm

      It was a great day! And the exam wasn’t as bad as I had feared. It was almost a letdown, but in sort of a good way. Except then you wonder if all the studying for that one exam was worth it…

  2. May 9, 2011 7:26 am

    What a nice breakfast! And I love that your son brought you a heated gel pack. What a keeper!

    Good luck today — and enjoy that cup of tea tonight! :)

    • May 9, 2011 9:05 pm

      Sadly, afternoon was not as productive as I had planned. :( However, I’m still having some tea will I study – sort of a “congrats on being oral path but keep going” kind of reward.

  3. May 9, 2011 7:32 pm

    Reading your account of the ever-magical Mother’s Day breakfast in bed was just hysterical. Your children and husband are too cute :)

    My Mother’s Day was spent eating carbs in all forms and not much else. It Was Glorious.

    Good luck with the studying, lady! Maybe 10 minutes of yoga could be a nice reward? I know you already do Fitness, but it could be enough to drag your mind elsewhere. Or perhaps a quick game or three of solitaire/hearts/free cell?

Trackbacks

  1. The Studying Continues, and Other Random Nonsense « Mostly Fit Mom

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 90 other followers