Skip to content

Having “The Talk” With My Son, and Other Random Bits

March 12, 2011
  • No matter what good intentions I have, the e-mails tend to pile up in my inbox.  Today, I started going through a few (hundred) and weeding things out.  In the process, I found this video on foam rolling and thought I’d share because I’m sure I’m not the only one out there who needs to stretch out those legs.
  • I posted here that I was thinking of running the Disneyland Half Marathon.  I checked the website only a few days ago, and at the time, the website said the race was 80% full.  After some discussion with my husband over the past few days, I decided to register today, but sadly and somewhat surprising to me, it was full.  I put my name on the waitlist, but also registered for the Queen City Half Marathon, which runs a week later.  Either way, I’m looking forward to training for a half – and hopefully not getting injured – this summer.
  • My 6 year old son just asked my husband and me what sex is.  The resulting discussion was only semi-awkward.
  • I was up at 4 am again today.  Went back to sleep around 7am.  I am not loving this waking up in the middle of the night thing.  Poor quality sleep makes me feel so terrible all day, and my GI tract was definitely feeling sketchy today as a result.  I’m sure the stress isn’t helping, either.
  • I’m was going to use my tiredness to explain why I didn’t work out today, but the reality is, I just didn’t fit my workout in today, and there was no really good reason for it.  Fitness fail!
  • It’s supposed to be above freezing tomorrow afternoon, so I’m definitely going for a run.  Can’t wait!

I’m calling it a day and heading for bed with fingers crossed that I’ll sleep all night.

How’s the weather where you are?  Are you running outside yet, or do you run on the treadmill year-round?

7 Comments leave one →
  1. March 13, 2011 10:16 am

    I’m still on the treadmill – hopefully only for another week or two. It is just too slippery/slushy and I don’t want to fall and get hurt.

    I remember asking my parents about sex when I was maybe 8 or 9? And now that I think about it, it was my older sister who asked and my parents decided to tell us both at the same time. I”m pretty sure I laughed the entire time!

    • March 13, 2011 8:56 pm

      I’m always very careful when I run outside and it definitely slows me down, but since I’m not yet training for anything specific – like you are – I’m not worrying about speed or distance. If I were training for a specific event, I’d be on the treadmill, too. And it’s not melting enough yet to be slushy or muddy – I think that may happen this week, though. Finally!

  2. March 13, 2011 6:47 pm

    Hope you sleep too!!!

    I am not a runner, but I switch up my indoor cardio a lot. Not outside yet, I like to so plyometrics outside and power walk/ sprint. Not quite warm enough here yet, and I am not quite in the shape to do my tough outdoor workouts at the time either :/

  3. March 13, 2011 10:35 pm

    The weather was really nice today … almost running outside time I hope!

    Good for you for having “the talk” with your son!!! I am having that same talk with my 13 and 14 year old students :-)

    • March 20, 2011 8:26 pm

      Ha! He’s only almost-7, so I can’t even imagine what questions he’ll come up with at age 13/14! I’m running outside, but with all the ruts and ice around here, it’s slow-going and feels a little dangerous. Hope the melting starts soon!

Trackbacks

  1. Dealing with GI Issues? « Mostly Fit Mom

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 93 other followers