Skip to content

Songs to Spin to: A Biking Playlist

August 3, 2010

I WISH this were my stationary bike. Mine is a much (at least 16 years) older version.

I did my first triathlon this year, but since I hadn’t owned a bike for, gosh, it’s gotta be 10 years or so (and longer since I’ve really ridden a bike), I went out and bought one.  Luckily, I re-discovered that riding a bike is FUN.  There’s something about covering ground more quickly than you do when you run that makes it kind of exciting.

Sometimes, though, I have to get a bike workout in and the weather’s crappy (and sometimes I’ve procrastinated and it’s too dark to go outside – oops!), so I head down to the really old stationary bike that we have in the basement.  Stationary biking is….well, I can’t even come up with a word for how bad I think it is.  “Horrific” may be a little dramatic – it’s just exercise I’m talking about, after all.

Unfortunately, I’ve found I can’t really watch TV when I bike because I get into the show I’m watching and I just don’t pedal hard enough.  What DOES work for me is listening to songs with a beat that makes me to spin at a fairly high RPM.  Here are the songs on my current biking playlist:

  • Not Falling Apart – Maroon 5
  • American Boy (feat. Kanye West) – Estelle
  • Poker Face – Lady GaGa
  • Let It Rock – Kevin Rudolf & Lil Wayne
  • Makes Me Wonder – Maroon 5
  • Stayin’ Alive – Bee Gees
  • Billie Jean – Michael Jackson
  • Eye of the Tiger – Survivor
  • Learning to Fly – Tom Petty & The Heartbreakers
  • Won’t Go Home Without You – Maroon 5
  • 1234 – Feist
  • Hollaback Girl – Gwen Stefani
  • SexyBack – Justin Timberlake featuring Timbaland
  • Don’t Stop the Music – Rihanna Good Girl Gone Bad
  • Another One Bites the Dust – Queen

I rode to it last night – the first time in quite a while that I’ve used this playlist – and found that some of the songs are a little faster than I’d like them to be (but better faster than slower, ya know?).  A couple, though, had the perfect beat for the interval workout I was doing: Stayin’ Alive (103 bpm) and Eye of the Tiger (105 bpm).   There’s no school like the old school, I guess?  Anyway, I may be looking for some more songs in this BPM range soon.  Will post my new playlist once I pull it together.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. August 30, 2014 6:40 am

    Since the admin of this website is working, no doubt very quickly it will be
    famous, due to its quality contents.

Trackbacks

  1. Late-Night Workouts: The End Result of Procrastination « Mostly Fit Mom

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 96 other followers