Skip to content

Yummy Oatmeal Recipes

August 2, 2010

I have oatmeal almost every morning for breakfast.  That’s right.  EVERY.  MORNING.  It’s really filling, makes you feel warm and fuzzy in the winter, and is actually pretty easy and quick to make if you use your microwave.  I looked online for some nutritional info, and one serving has 150 calories, 3 g of fat, 27 g of carbs, 3 g of fibre, and 6 g of protein.  Click here for the details.  Looks pretty good, non?  The benefits don’t end there!  To quote an article from WebMD, “Because [oatmeal's] high in soluble fiber, ‘it’s slower to digest and it won’t raise your blood sugar as much or as quickly. It’s going to work better at controlling blood sugar over time.'”  This is good news for me, since I likely have insulin resistance due to my PCOS.

Still, plain oatmeal is not all that appealing, so I try to mix it up, using different types of fruit and spices to turn plain oatmeal into something both healthy AND delicious.  Here are a few of my favourite recipes:

Blueberry Oatmeal

  • 1/3 c large flake oats
  • 1/2 c frozen blueberries
  • 3/4 c water
  • several sprinkles of cinnamon

Cook in the microwave for 3 minutes or so (depending on your microwave – ours is crappy), and then stir in a couple of drops of vanilla.

Oatmeal with Raisins

  • 1/3 c large flake oats
  • 2 tbsp – 1/4 c raisins
  • 3/4 c water
  • several heavy sprinkles of cinnamon
  • light sprinkles of nutmeg
  • sometimes a couple sprinkles of ginger

Cook in the microwave for about 2 minutes, and then stir in a little vanilla.  Sometimes I put some sea salt on top, too.  Yum.

Apple Cinnamon Oatmeal

  • 1/3 c large flake oats
  • 1 apple, chopped (with skin on)
  • 3/4 c water
  • heavy sprinkles of cinnamon
  • light sprinkles of nutmeg

Cook in the microwave until the apples are soft (usually I do 3 minutes, stir, and then another minute), and then stir in a little vanilla (yes, I LOVE vanilla and think people should use more of it).

I recently tried a new combo inspired by a Facebook post by fitbook by fitlosophy.

I tried it out (without the nuts, because we don’t have nuts in our house – niece has severe allergies and it makes me less nervous this way) and it was pretty darn good, but I tweaked the recipe a little to reflect what I usually have for breakfast:

Cherry Oatmeal

  • 1/3 c oatmeal
  • 1/2 c pitted cherries
  • 3/4 c water

Cook in the microwave for 2 minutes or so, and then stir in a little vanilla (of course!).  I haven’t tried it with any spices, but a little cinnamon would probably be pretty yummy, or maybe a pinch of ginger.

I also stumbled across some delicious-looking combos at the Quaker Oatmeal site.  Click here to see.  I may have to try a couple of these out soon!  Strawberry Banana Parfait and Cherry Chocolate Crunch?  Yes, please.  I would use plain oatmeal, of course, but I still think they would be fantastic.  Let me know if you have any oatmeal recipes to suggest!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 91 other followers